Skip to content

Trip and Gaming

For a good portion of last week, rain was expected to hit the DC metro region over the weekend. But as the work week crept on by, it became clear that sunny skies were on the way.

Which of course meant everyone should go out and have some fun. And that’s what I did.

On Saturday morning, Matt, my mom and I piled up in his car and drove up to Pennsylvania to visit my mom’s aunt (my grandmother’s sister) who lives on a very old farm which has been in her husband’s family since 1925. The farm itself was built in 1823. Pretty old huh?

We arrived just in time for lunch and proceeded to have a bite to eat. After lunch we just lounged about outside, sitting in the cool breeze and phenomenal sunshine.

Country Road

A little before we left, we had some fresh picked blueberries from my great aunt’s garden and a cup of coffee with a bite of baked goods. Matt and I went for a quick walk and actually caught a glimpse of three deer running around through the trees and a fox who ran frightfully away from us into the corn fields.

We got back home around 10pm somewhat tired, but happy to have gotten out into the country. My great aunt was elated to see us and ecstatic that she was the first person from my extended family to meet Matt (did I ever mention my family is spread out on almost every continent?).

When Sunday morning rolled around, I counted down the minutes until I would head over with Alice to Brand About Town’s Girlfriend’s Guide to Gaming Nintendo DSi Party hosted by the lovely LiLu.

Several of you have probably already heard of, been to or even hosted one of these parties. But in case you haven’t, several bloggers in various US cities have been asked to host these parties for their girlfriends and fellow lady bloggers in which five stations are set up, each with a couple of Nintendo gaming devices. At four stations the guests play a different game while at the fifth, you can play around with the DSi. We played Mario Kart, Brain Age, Puzzler, and Rhythm Heaven.

I think my favorite was Mario Kart since four of us were playing the same game together as different Mario game characters, but didn’t need to connect the DSis through cords since they all have wireless connections. It was wicked awesome.

After completing each station, we would get a token and once we obtained four tokens, we received a gift, otherwise known as a Nintendo DSi. I believe wide eyed looks could be seen around the room as one by one, each lovely lady got her little gaming device.

Did you know this cute little game console not only allows you to play a variety of games on it, but has a camera, wireless technology, chat rooms, and is basically all around fun?

I know what I’ll be taking on metro rides with me from now on as well as my trip to Lebanon in a few weeks.

Thanks to LiLu for hosting and inviting and loads of thanks to the Brand About Town ladies! Had SO much fun!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fearless #

    OK, now I’m really, really jealous. Especially since I totally kick ass at Mario Kart. *sniff*

    I totally don’t kick butt in Mario Kart. And that was proven time and again when I landed myself in last place! But still so much fun.

    July 20, 2009
  2. f.B #

    When K got back from the party, the smile on her face — because of the Nintendo DSi — was huge.

    But I’ve only ever seen a fox once. So much smaller than I expected.

    They are pretty small aren’t they?

    July 20, 2009
  3. Liebchen #

    Mario Kart was so much fun. I still need to play with mine more – it’s charging as we speak.

    We so need to get together and play it again! Let’s just skip work all together and play Mario Kart. What say you?

    July 20, 2009
  4. hillary #

    that photo makes my heart happy

    Thank you! That makes me happy. :)

    July 20, 2009
  5. That was a truly fabulous party. I wish I could take credit, but it was all the BAT lovely ladies. I hope they keep our names on file… :-)

    July 20, 2009
  6. Sizzle #

    I’m so glad you got to go to a Brand About Town party- do they know how to throw a shindig or what?! I had such a good time at mine. PLUS, I love my DSi and play it every single day. I’m hooked on Brain Age even though I hated that game when I first played it.

    I’m so glad I got invited and did go! I just wish I could play with my DSi at work. Apparently they frown on that.

    July 20, 2009
  7. alice #

    mine’s charging now too! i used up the whole battery last night.. hah. can’t wait to use it on the way to chicago!!

    I actually played Dr. Mario before going to bed last night. I love it!

    July 20, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I’d Call It Selling Out, if the Damn Thing Weren’t Actually So Cool | Livit, Luvit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

