Skip to content

Pieces of Comfort

I don’t recall how it all started, but my dad would buy me a lego box on special occasions (birthday, Christmas). We would then sit for however long it took me to put the pieces together while he coached me along and patiently answered my questions.

As I grew older, I would watch him put pieces of furniture together that he and my mother would buy (many a times from Ikea) or asked him questions when he would fix something that stopped working in the house.

Last Friday my new couch (also from Ikea) was finally delivered. In pieces of course. I happened to be chatting with my dad via Skype when the delivery people brought the massive cardboard box into my apartment and placed it on my living room floor.

After they left, I tore open the box, took note of the different pieces and looked over the instructions with my dad.

Just as he use to help me along when I was a little girl putting my lego pieces together, he did the same as I placed each piece of the couch together while he watched and spoke with me through Skype, directing me if I had any questions or stopping me from making any mistakes.

I was quite proud of myself (as was my dad) once the couch was completed and finally in one piece. But what made me smile even more was the opportunity of having a piece of my childhood back, another chance to put pieces of a puzzle together with my dad.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love stories like this, stories of those “dad things “that make grown women little girls again – or maybe, the things that make little girls into grown women. I’ll never have these things – but I love when people like you let me catch a glimpse of them.

    September 20, 2010
  2. aw, this is so sweet! i know i sound like a commercial, but it’s amazing to think what’s possible now with things like skype. i love that he was able to “be there” and help :)

    September 20, 2010
  3. i think this is adorable what you guys did, ain’t technology grand?

    September 20, 2010
  4. What a good story. My dad would never be able to figure out Skype, but could (and has) help(ed) me assemble furniture. Love dads.

    September 20, 2010
  5. That’s a sweet memory. :-) Your couch looks comfy! Mine is coming on Thursday.

    September 20, 2010
  6. love this

    September 20, 2010
  7. Super cute. I love that he was helping through Skype.

    I actually love putting Ikea furniture together. When the boyfriend got his entertainment center, I was so excited at the opportunity. And he knew better than to get between me and my tools.

    September 21, 2010
  8. Awww that’s great! I also give you props for being able to patiently put IKEA furniture together. (I hated doing that and that is part of the reason why I don’t shop at IKEA)

    September 24, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

