Skip to content

How to Make Tabouli

I’ve always been asked by some of my friends how to make tabouli and I’ve always said to them, “I can’t tell you how to make it, I have to show you how to make it.” So I finally took some pictures of my mom making it and decided to post them along with instructions on how to make tabouli. So here it goes….

Ingredients:
-2 large bundles of parsley
-3 medium sized tomatoes
-4 spring onions
-1/4 (or 2 oz) of a cup of fine cracked wheat (NOT couscous)
-1/4 of a cup of olive oil (ONLY use olive oil)
-1 1/2 squeezed lemons
-1 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp all spice
-1 tsp of dried mint (NOT peppermint)

The method to this madness is as follows:
Begin by sorting the parsley into small bundles as shown in the picture on the left. Wash and dry before you start cutting.





Start by cutting off the stems of the parsley and push it aside. Then cut the parsley into very small pieces.



Place the cut parsley into a bowl. Once you are done cutting all the bundles of parsley, sprinkle the mint over the parsley.




After cutting the parsley, place the spring onions together and chop them into small pieces as well.


Once you have chopped all the spring onions, put them on top of the mint and parsley. Then sprinkle the all spice on the onion and place the cracked wheat in the bowl next to the parsley as shown in the picture.




Next, chop the tomatoes into small pieces as shown below.


Place the tomatoes over the cracked wheat in the bowl. Then sprinkle the salt over the ingredients in the bowl and add the olive oil and squeezed lemons. Mix everything and taste it. If you think it needs more salt, olive oil and/or lemon then add more.




If not, voila! You have made tabouli! You can chill it a little bit if you like in the fridge and when you want to eat it, you can serve it with roman lettuce. Enjoy! Sahtaan!!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Laure #

    Well may I brag that I impressed all my friends on New Years Eve when I made my very own Lebanese Tabouli based on the recipe from Chez Marie. It made a huge bowl and it was gone within minutes with people asking for more. I can do it, I can do it, yeah baby yeah

    January 4, 2006
  2. Marie #

    I’m so proud… 🙂

    January 6, 2006
  3. Shonna #

    Hey Marie, so my dad and I are FINALLY making your tabouli tomorrow night. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    March 21, 2009
  4. ted #

    So the cracked wheat is not cooked or soaked at all before eating?

    February 5, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fattoush | Marie's Café
  2. The Week of Parsley | Marie's Café

Leave a Reply

