Skip to content

Betty Crocker Has Nothing On Me

American Thanksgiving is quickly approaching and you may have noticed massive packed turkeys, pumpkin pie ingredients, potatoes, yams, and cranberries littering the isles in your local grocery store. If not, then I’m guessing you either don’t live in the US or have your underwear tied around your eyes from last night’s bedroom activities. In which case all I have to say to you is what the hell were you doing on a Sunday night that involves your unmentionables tied around your eyes?!

Actually, don’t tell me.

Moving along…I decided to do some baking this past weekend after cleaning my apartment (it’s true, I have no life) because baking a. makes me happy and b. makes my apartment smell good.

Saturday I made chocolate chip cookies, a recipe I found on Visions of Sugar Plum. For her Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies (All Butter Version) click here. My cookies turned out rich and yummy. So delish!

chocolate chip cookie

Of course I didn’t keep them. I made them for Matt’s cousins. I rarely keep food I bake. I’m not sure why, but I always like giving it away.

Sunday night rolled around and I found myself making Pumpkin Bread. I made this twice before last year and both times it turned out really good. I usual end up with so much batter that this time I put it in two bread pans and one mini cupcake tray. After they were done, Matt ate four of the mini cupcakes. Yes, they are tasty.

pumpkin bread

baby pumpkin bread

Once again I packed up the two pumpkin bread loaves because one will be going to Matt’s cousins and one will be going with us to Matt’s parents (since we’re spending Thanksgiving with them).

If interested, here’s the Pumpkin Bread recipe:

Mix together and set aside (these are the dry ingredients):
3 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger

Beat 3 cups of white sugar and 1 cup vegetable oil. Add 4 eggs, one at a time. Mix them with the dry ingredients.

Add to the above mixture:
2 cups canned pumpkin
2/3 cup orange juice
1 1/2 cups raisins
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts (I didn’t add walnuts because I’m not too fond of them in baked goods!)

Pour into 2 greased loaf pans (or one big cake pan – you can choose whichever pan shape you want). Let rest for 20 minutes before baking. Bake at 325 F degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until done (I usually poke it with a toothpick or small fork to see if it is done). Let stand in pans for 5 minutes – take out of pans to cool completely.

Alright, back to my day job…

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. rialeilani #

    my mouth is watering. i may be drooling on my desk!

    November 24, 2008
  2. lspoon #

    OMG that looks amazing. I want to eat my computer!

    November 24, 2008
  3. Kristen #

    I freaking love Thanksgiving.

    November 24, 2008
  4. saratogajean #

    Do you think I could make your pumpkin bread as mini-cupcakes?

    Then I could eat 12 or 13 and not feel so bad, rather than eating a whole loaf.

    Because bite-sized food doesn’t have a calorie count, right?

    But seriuosly, mini-cupcakes? Do-able?

    November 24, 2008
  5. Nilsa #

    Your baking is making me hungry. Why’d you have to go do that? =)

    November 24, 2008
  6. elle michelle #

    WOW. Just wow.

    November 24, 2008
  7. Alice #

    I WANT THAT PUMPKIN BREAD. RIGHTNOW. looks like i have a project for when i get back from jersey…

    November 24, 2008
  8. rs27 #

    Can you just make this for me? I’ll pay you exactly, um, nothing.

    November 24, 2008
  9. Marie #

    rialeilani-Make sure you have tissues close by. 😉

    lspoon-I’m guessing my baked goods will taste slightly better than your computer. Computers are just too crunchy.

    kristen-Ditto!

    saratogajean-Definitely do-able. You’re just going to need A LOT of mini-cupcake trays. Like, a lot, a lot.

    nilsa-Oh just to make you a little hungry. 😉

    elle michelle-Thanks! I think.

    alice-If only there was a way to send food via email…

    rs27-Ummmmmm…..mmmmmm…hmmmm….no.

    November 24, 2008
  10. Narm #

    Ok how do I get to be in your family. You have to have someone I can marry so I can enjoy that food. I’ll marry the dog, I don’t care.

    November 24, 2008
  11. Hillary #

    Mmmm that pumpkin bread looks fabulous. If I were to make it, I think I’d cut out the raisins and nuts and add in a boatload of chocolate chips 🙂

    November 24, 2008
  12. Dave Q. #

    Damn. I am so craving baked goods now… 🙂

    November 24, 2008
  13. Marie #

    narm-Ok you can marry the dog.

    hillary-It’s so good! And definitely put in it whatever you want. I actually only put raisans because I love them!

    dave q.-Maybe you can make some? Or probably just go out and buy yourself something. 🙂

    November 24, 2008
  14. Alexa #

    excellent photos marie!! and they look pretty damn tasty too.

    November 25, 2008
  15. Marie #

    alexa-Thank you!

    November 25, 2008

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Pie Confession | Marie's Café

Leave a Reply

