Skip to content

A little more detail

I’m not really sure where to start. Matt and I had discussed marriage at different points in our relationship. He didn’t “pop the question” at any point, we just agreed early on this year when he landed a teaching job that it was the right time to get married.

He asked me if I wanted an engagement ring, but I said no, a most definite no. I don’t like jewelry all that much – just small bits and pieces. I also get nervous wearing a ring that has a bulging diamond coming out of it because I’ll more than likely hit it on something, sending it flying out into a black hole.

It’s just how I roll. Besides, a ring is just a symbol of our unity. It’s not the marriage, it’s not the relationship.

No white dress. Why? I don’t like the way I look in white (jaundiced) and quite frankly I thought it was a bit over done. Women didn’t even initially start wearing white until Queen Victoria made a fashion statement. So I chose pink because I love the way it brings out the colors in my cheeks and gives me a blush kind of look.

Intimate. I’ve never been a fan of big weddings. You don’t have a chance to see everyone, say hello and get in a couple of laughs. We invited about 80 people and around 50 showed up. Including Matt and I. It was perfect. I had a chance to talk to everyone and share many giggles.

Short and sweet. That’s how the ceremony went. Civil one that is. We even included two readings from my favorite Lebanese poet Khalil Gibran which two of our friends read aloud. I wanted to include a little bit of our cultural background in it and Gibran was perfect for that.

All in one place. Ceremony, cocktails and dinner were all at the Lorien Hotel & Spa in Old Town, Alexandria. I couldn’t have asked for a better and more perfect place. The food, staff and our wedding coordinator at the Lorien were beyond what I could have imagined. Beyond wonderful that is.

Oh the friends. They traveled from far and wide to spend this day with us – Australia, Belgium, California, Minnesota, Washington (state that is), and Massachusetts. Well and of course our DC metro peeps who, let’s face it, didn’t have that much of a commute.

Family was a little crazy. But then again what would a wedding be without that kind of crazy? You gotta love ’em. Even if they drive you up the wall.

Yet it was all a blur. Happened so fast after months of planning and DIY projects (tissue pom pom making with the help of Alice and Tam, seating favors, making small pink roses out of ribbons, and a heck of a lot more). The only people I recall seeing at the actual ceremony were my parents, Matt’s parents, my matron of honor, Matt’s brother (also his best man), the justice of the peace and of course Matt.

But it was pretty damn awesome. Couldn’t have asked for a better day. Ever. Funny thing is that I still feel like Matt is my lifetime boyfriend. We just made it official.

If you haven’t seen Alice’s pictures, go over here and if you want to see a sneak peak from our photographer’s pictures (James Linkowitz) go over here. Enjoy!

Dress: BCBG
Suit: Banana Republic
Photographer: James Linkowitz
Venue and Food: Lorien Hotel & Spa
Florist: Petal’s Edge
Birdcage Veil: Tessa Kim
Flower Hair Clip: A La Parisienne
Hair & Makeup: Bang Salon – Jen and Diego (Metropole)
Wedding Ad Libs: August Press
Photobooth Favors: Little Retreats
Invitations, RSVP cards, table favors, seating name labels, signs: All me
Tissue pom poms: Alice, Tam, my mom, and yours truly

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m so happy for you guys. I love that you didn’t conform to societal wedding standards & just did what makes YOU happy. It looks like it was fun & beautiful, a celebration of wonderful love!

    September 21, 2011
  2. OMG that reminds me, I NEVER DID A MAD LIB!! hopefully you saved some of the blank ones?

    September 21, 2011
  3. Uh, I have no idea why my last comment autofilled an old blog name. That comment was from me!

    September 21, 2011
  4. I love the mad libs idea! Also, might have to pick your brain on DIY invites and whatnot. But seriously – you both looked like you had such an amazing time. So happy for you guys!

    September 21, 2011
  5. San #

    Congratulations! Very happy for you – and you looked gorgeous!

    September 21, 2011
  6. My sister wore a pink dress at her wedding. I have definitely thought about going the same route due to my skin color. White does not look good on me. I think you looked beautiful, Marie. I’m so happy for you and Matt. 🙂

    September 21, 2011
  7. That is so awesome. I love the bucking of tradition while still being traditional. You need to be a planner.

    September 21, 2011
  8. The thing I love about weddings is, when done right, reflect the couple’s wishes, desires and dreams. Your small, intimate wedding with beautifully handmade touches just feels so Marie. And even though my wedding was dramatically different than yours, it doesn’t mean I can’t adore yours just the same! You did an amazing job celebrating a relationship with a pretty incredible man!

    September 22, 2011
  9. You are fabulous. Everything about you. Congratulations!

    September 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

