Skip to content

Drowning in Paint

I think I’ve forgotten how exactly one takes a vacation. I took this whole week off to do some home improvement projects. Since Sunday, I’ve been prepping, priming and painting different rooms in our new place. My parents have been helping me, but I’ve been doing the main priming/painting.

It’s a wonder I haven’t drowned in all that paint.

And in other news? The woman who owned this place before us had AWFUL taste. AWFUL. Did I mention it’s AWFUL?? Because it really is AWFUL. She could have done so much, but nope, had to go ahead with her craptastic taste and splatter it everywhere.

Exhibit A. The Dining Room Wall.

Listen, I get people want accent walls, but THIS? It’s AWFUL. It makes the room look dark, small, almost as if you’re coming over to have dinner at Hannibal Lecter’s place. It had to go. After 3 coats of white primer and 1 coat of eggshell white paint+ primer it became this:

Nice right?? Granted some stuff will go up on the walls but hey! At least it’s not AWFUL. It’s bright and opens up the room more.

Now let’s move into the bathroom. If you paint your bathroom baby blue and I find out about it, I’m going to have to come and smack you. I’m sorry, but no. It’s AWFUL. I should have smacked this woman during the closing, but I had some serious sticker shock that I couldn’t even think straight.

Exhibit B. The Blue Bathroom.

The right side of this picture doesn’t exactly portray the horrendous blue due to lighting so let me show you this as well:

AWFUL yes?? Also the tub faucets were FILTHY so my dad and I took them apart (which is SUPER easy by the way) and my mom did some cleaning magic. Then VOILA! Clean tub faucets! HOW HARD IS IT TO KEEP STUFF CLEAN?

But back to the blue. The AWFUL baby blue. It’s gone. Now all white:

Better eh?? The floor is also going. It’s cheapo vinyl. We can file that also under AWFUL. The flooring peeps are coming next week on Thursday to replace it with – WAIT FOR IT – actual TILE.

We had to also take the doors down because 1. to paint and 2. the hinges were rusted. RUSTED. Do you know how easy and cheap it is to replace door hinges? SUPER EASY. Get yourself to Home Depot or Lowes or some hardware store, buy new hinges that fit your door (take one of the door hinges with you to measure) which cost about $3-4, unscrew all the old ones, and screw in the new ones. TA-DAH! You now have new, non-rusted hinges.

I’ll also eventually be replacing the door knobs one by one, but I need to find some that match all around the house.

The Violet Room remains. It shall be primed and painted between today and tomorrow.

All of The AWFUL walls will be gone soon. I seriously can’t wait. You should see what I have planned for the kitchen…but that’ll have to wait for a year or a few.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. As much as I hate the beige color every single wall in our new house is painted, at least it is neutral. It’s hard to inherit someone else’s tastes, especially when you want to make the house your own. You’d probably not like my paint choices because I’m about to paint my craft room, the guest room, the downstairs family room, and our bedroom- and none of it will be white. 🙂

    June 22, 2012
  2. So, here’s the thing. I don’t exactly like the red, but I don’t mind the blue (we have a light aqua bathroom and it’s quite romantic, actually). There are some people (myself included) who prefer color to white/neutral. Just be happy that the “fixes” to your home are of the easy, $40/gallon variety. =)

    June 25, 2012
  3. i still find it funny that i am slowly going through my house and paining all of the (AWFUL) bare white walls with color, while you are painting over all the (AWFUL) colored walls with white 🙂

    June 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

