Skip to content

Who says we have to grow up?

funny serious

Over the weekend my mom updated me on the various lives of people in our family and friends, as she always does. We sit and chat over Skype as I sip my morning coffee while my parents are finishing up dinner.

Sometimes it’s a little bit of funny gossip, how our extended family is doing, and what they’ve been up to.

And other times it’s about the endless violence that happens in the region. Like how the 18-year old granddaughter of someone they know almost got torn to pieces by a bomb or something of the like that hit the car she was in while visiting her family in Syria during her semester break.

But those stories are common to us. People in the US don’t really hear about them unless you are a friend of mine and I happen to mention something to you. Or you see a passing headline in the news with the word Lebanon in it and happen to remember I’m from there, that my family is there and is everyone ok?

Did you know that just today five rockets from Syria hit eastern Lebanon? Thankfully no one was hurt or killed.

Did you know Israeli airplanes break the sound barrier and law by flying over Lebanon almost daily? So common that the Lebanese don’t even pay attention to it anymore.

Do you know how the Lebanese have been able to survive decades of political unrest and turmoil? They keep up with what’s happening but they take it all in one day at a time. They try their best to stay safe but they get out as much as they possibly can. They visit friends and family. They go out and party. They live each day because they don’t know what tomorrow or the next millisecond will bring.

It’s a lesson I’ve learned when I feel down, which quite frankly I have no business doing. My life is fine. In fact it’s better than fine. I live in a lovely neighborhood, have a cute house, wonderful friends, a job and Matt. So many of those are things we take for granted.

We tend to look at all the things we don’t have rather than all that we do. There’s always something missing or just out of our reach. At times we can even be like that bratty child on Christmas morning who didn’t get everything that was on the list they made.

I stop sometimes and look around me, trying to take it all in. And remember that I am so damn lucky. Maybe it’s why I try to maintain my childish – yet slightly sarcastic – humor. It’s the only way to push through life.

Take it one day at a time, don’t stress what you can’t control and laugh. Laugh so hard that tears come down your face. Enjoy every second. You never know when it will come to a halt.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Elizabeth #

    “They keep up with what’s happening but they take it all in one day at a time.” Such a good reminder/life lesson.

    And I love the photo that goes along with this post!

    February 18, 2014
    • Ha! Thanks! I crack up whenever I look at it. 🙂

      February 18, 2014
  2. My cousin’s wife (who is from Israel) says the same thing about unrest in Israel. People just continue on with their lives, because they have to. So unfortunate. But, it does raise a good point – that the United States is filled with people who always want more. They spend a lifetime chasing that happiness and don’t feel fulfilled until they reach that point, if they reach it at all. Such a shame. I don’t think my life is perfect, by any means, but I like to think I have perspective about my problems.

    February 18, 2014
    • That you definitely do! You don’t strike me as one of those individuals who are never satisfied or happy. That’s for sure. In anything, you seem like someone who is always thankful for everything that you have, for your family and make the best out of any situation.

      February 20, 2014
  3. San #

    You know that this is a really interesting perspective.

    My husband, who is American, constantly tells me how much safer he feels when we visit Germany, that he would be less worried for me when I got out by myself, because the US has so much unnecessary violence.
    He also said that his perspective would probably be different if he had visited/lived in a place that was much unsafer than the US.
    The example of your family in Lebanon and your life here is a constant reminder to me that it is all a matter of perspective.

    February 18, 2014
    • Perspective plays such a big role in our lives. Plus some people have it, and some people I guess choose to ignore it.

      I think there’s violence everywhere which we can never completely escape. But in some places (like Lebanon) it is more magnified because of the highly politicized situation. No matter where we are, we should always be careful and know our surroundings!

      February 20, 2014
  4. “Enjoy every second” is something I try to live by because life is short everywhere. It can be a Syrian missile attack or a school shooting or a car crash. I’m not trying to downplay the severity of all that happens in Lebanon. It’s horrible and you know I feel that way. But “enjoy every second” should be everyone’s mantra regardless of where they live. Yanno?

    February 18, 2014
    • I think that’s really the best moto to live by no matter where you are. I’ve been guilty of not doing so in my own life and it just never pays off in the end. Totally agree with you.

      February 20, 2014
  5. I have never lived in, nor have any of my family lived in, an environment such as the one you described. When you do, you must find the positive things in life, otherwise you’d just be miserable. That said, I completely agree that we Americans have it so good. So good. And what do we complain about? Our home is too small? We don’t make enough money? The service at so-and-so restaurant wasn’t good? We should all count our lucky stars. Thanks for the reminder.

    February 19, 2014
    • I think there are several people in the US that do have a rough go of it, especially because of the economic downturn (among other issues). But yes, there are definitely those who take many of the good things they have in their lives for granted. A lot. Always good to remember the things we can be thankful for!

      February 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

