Skip to content

Live healthy, live happy?

yoga

Anyone who knows me or has read this blog knows that I have struggled with cooking and exercising.

Essentially, I hate cooking (bane of my existence) and exercising is pure torture.

I’ve tried everything – running, exercising at home, cooking super quick meals that are really never super quick, soccer, and well you name it. I never kept up with anything. Except for yoga, and for only a certain period of time.

Sadly yoga classes were almost impossible to go to because we moved and I got a new job, and long story short the stars didn’t align.

Over the past year (April 2013 – June 2014), I started to gain weight (yes I know, doesn’t look like I have, but trust me I do feel it when I put my pants on). I felt even more tired, cranky, and overall very unhealthy. I didn’t like what I was putting into my body and I didn’t like that I had become so very sedentary.

Something had to change. So first of all, I got a new job (my previous “new” job was part of the problem) in a very urban area (DC) which has helped me immensely. Since I don’t drive (Mr. Matt has the car), I commute via metro which means I can walk to different (i.e. farther) metro stops.

My newer job has better health benefits – gym membership at a lower cost, CSA options, and is overall a heck of a lot less stressful. It’s also located around some pretty healthy options.

And bonus? It’s super close to the old yoga studio I used to go to religiously. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me.

So I’ve made some changes in my life in the past month or so to tackle my lazy cooking/exercising habits. There is virtually no excuse for me to not go to the gym since it is literally next door to work. I have been going three times a week for the past three weeks (and am continuing to do so) for about an hour each time. I mix cardio and weight lifting to get the most out of my workout. Then I walk about a mile to metro. Once a week, I go to the yoga studio which makes life just all around better.

As for cooking, I’ve joined Blue Apron and Gathered Table to try both out, and see which one will help me the most long term. So far, both are working for me. Instead of trying my best to get home at a decent time to cook dinner, I make our meal for the next day (lunch) and we eat something quick and light for dinner. This has helped me tremendously as I don’t feel the pressure (that I put on myself) to cook for that evening and wonder what we’re to take to work the next day (we’re trying to stay away from buying food at work and prepackaged/frozen meals).

How do I stand the cooking you ask? I put a show or movie on my little iPad, hook it up to speakers, and voila! I can watch something while I cook which makes it all so very bearable.

Granted, I don’t get home until about 8pm, but so far I feel better about myself and my rear end is no longer sagging.

Hope this continues and I don’t fall off the wagon!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rock on! I hope it keeps up for you. Share some recipes, BTW.

    September 15, 2014
    • Marie #

      Thanks and will do!

      September 15, 2014
  2. San #

    Good for you, Marie. Sometimes it takes some commitment to make things happen… and it looks like you got it! 🙂

    September 15, 2014
    • Marie #

      Thank you! Hope I can keep the momentum going! (Especially when winter comes around.)

      September 15, 2014
  3. Dawn #

    Yay Marie! Good for you! So happy to hear that the new job, area, everything is better. Miss you!

    September 16, 2014
    • Marie #

      Thanks lady! I miss you too! Now come back. 😉

      September 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

