Skip to content

Your Wedding Photog

185

 Photo by James Linkowitz Photography

Over the summer on two separate occasions I was asked if I would possibly consider taking wedding pictures for two different couples (people I don’t know, but I know their friends who were asking me). I flat out, but politely declined. Don’t get me wrong, I was immensely flattered, especially because I don’t think my photography is up to par (by ANY means – not looking for compliments, I promise).

There were several reasons, though, that I did decline so I thought I would share in case someone is looking for a wedding photographer and why you should choose quality when it comes to your pictures (don’t go cheap).

First of all, wedding photographers (the professionals) have practiced this over and over and over and over again. Just because you have a camera, does not make you a good photographer (sorry, but no). It takes a lot of learning about light and how your camera functions, along with practicing. Additionally, a wedding photographer will have gone along with a more “senior” wedding photographer for some time as a second shooter to pick up on techniques used such as setting up the photo, how to work with the bride and groom along with everyone else there, what to photograph, etc.

Secondly, a wedding photographer will usually have a second shooter (unless we’re talking about a super, teeny, tiny wedding party). You’ll notice wedding photos are taken from different angles. That’s because there are usually two people there. One person can’t take all those pictures from various angles within a specified amount of time. Next time you are at a wedding, just watch out for them. They try to stay as inconspicuous as possible, but you’ll spot them.

Third, gear. A wedding photographer will usually have two professional cameras (at least) with him/her along with different lenses. Do you know how much one of those camera bodies costs? A shit ton. You know how much the lenses cost? A shit ton more than those camera bodies. Then there’s flashes, batteries, and so on and so forth. I do not have the proper gear for a wedding (unless you are getting married at the courthouse and it’s just the couple).

Lastly, the wedding party. This is something I don’t have any patience to deal with. Brides can be … not so nice along with possibly parents, groom, and who knows who else. It requires A LOT of patience to deal with all that crazy. I tried my best to be on strict good behavior on our wedding day so our photographer didn’t have a crazy woman on his hands, but I was a bit of a freakazoid (until the ceremony and family pictures were over). Suffice it to say I have no patience to deal with any of that.

That’s why you pay a lot for a photographer. Keep in mind they have had to train for this, pay A LOT of money (well over $3,000) for their gear, make sure they have insurance, pay taxes on their business, pay their own bills, make sure their gear is always functional and clean, editing your photos (of which there are likely a ton), and more. It’s not a simple click of a button. Besides, the one thing that will last forever from that day are those pictures.

Don’t you want the best?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I feel very passionately the same way you do. Mostly because my sister’s husband is very good professional wedding and event photographer. He works very hard and is very dedicated. Anyone can make a website and make themselves XYZ Photography, and it takes away from the legit photographers who actually have businesses, pay their taxes, and actually need this for their income. They’ve got the gear and experience, which I think is priceless. They know the flow and how to deal with clients. I know I could never do his job, no matter how good I got at taking photos. This said, keep loving the photography craft! Maybe when these couples have kids (or dogs or cats), you can shoot a family photo. Those are more fun and less pressure, I think! Not that I’ve done any.

    September 22, 2014
    • Marie #

      Exactly Lisa!! I couldn’t agree with you more. This is something that takes time, dedication, creativity, experience, and talent. Not everyone has all of that. I do love taking more portrait type of pictures because it’s usually just with the individual or family. Loads more fun and more relaxed. I’ve actually done some of those and they are really a lot better (for me).

      September 22, 2014
  2. I could never do it either. I don’t care if it was my best friend or favorite family member asking. Just no. And I move your justification.

    “Second shooter”? Heh. It’s the Kennedy assassination!!!!

    September 22, 2014
    • Marie #

      Hahahaaa! That’s what I think sometimes when I read/write that. 🙂

      And heck no I wouldn’t do it for anyone.

      September 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

