Skip to content

The News, Issue 1

Dupont morning

I come across interesting articles each week that don’t necessarily have to do with politics or international news, but are great reads nevertheless. Last week several came my way (some of which Matt shared with me) and I thought I’d pass them along to you since my guess is you might find these to be a good read as well.

The New Yorker’s The Last Amazon by Jill Lepore discusses Wonder Woman’s origins and how her character, as described by her creator William Marston, “…is psychological propaganda for the new type of woman who should, I believe, rule the world.” What can I say? I’m a feminist and I like super heroes.

The Guardian’s Does sharing photos of your children on Facebook put them at risk? by Linda Geddes brings up many important issues in regards to the possible dangers and repercussions of sharing photos of children online (any social media outlet). Personally, I’m glad I did not grow up in the digital age because I know my parents would have splashed a gazillion pictures of me everywhere online to share with friends and family. I’m also happy to be able to make my own decisions on what to share online of myself. (P.S. If I do ever share a photo of children somewhere online, I make sure to ask their parents first.)

I’m always complaining to Matt that he doesn’t remember a lot of the things that I’ve told him or that have happened. Granted, he remembers several other things, like how the universe works and many grammatical rules, but not necessarily the everyday life stuff. Some of my friends have complained that their spouses are the same. Turns out, there may be a reason for that. Why Men Never Remember Anything by Melissa Dahl looks at the reasons behind this interesting phenomena (as I like to refer to it). I’ll give you a hint: it has something to do with the differences in how girls and boys are raised.

And Lastly, The Atlantic writes about Why Girls Tend to Get Better Grades Than Boys by Enrico Gnaulati. The article discusses new findings from a recent study by two psychology professors at the University of New Brunswick who based their results on a meta-analysis of 369 studies involving the academic grades of over one million boys and girls from 30 different nations.

Hopefully this can at least get you partially through the work week!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Elizabeth #

    “(P.S. If I do ever share a photo of children somewhere online, I make sure to ask their parents first.)”

    Thank you. You’d be surprised (or maybe not) at how many people don’t even think to ask. Family included (or maybe especially).

    September 23, 2014
    • Marie #

      Oh I know, doesn’t surprise me. I don’t think they know the implications of sharing pictures so widely. Can you ask them (politely) to please ask you first? Or is it a touchy issue? Matt and I have discussed it and we are both in agreement that should we ever have a kid (if we can), we’ll try to control this as much as possible and will not be posting any pictures online anywhere (just send pictures via email or text messages to family and friends).

      September 23, 2014
  2. Interesting round-up of articles:

    On photos of kids online – I think about this all the time. I think I make informed decisions about stories and photos, so to not embarrass them or jeopardize their future. However, I am more fearful of what my kids will post about themselves more than what I post. Kids sending naked photos of themselves, saying mean/cruel/stupid things online. That’s far worse than I’d ever do. I’m more concerned about teaching my kids the same discernment I exercise when posting anything online – photos, words, identifying info like DOB and location.

    On why men don’t remember as much as women – I disagree. Men remember a lot, just not the same things as women. Women’s memories seem strong (based on the study) because they connect them to emotions, and we are more emotive, in a sense. But ask any sports fan man out there and ask him how his heart was broken when his team lost the play-offs. If that’s not emotion, I don’t know what is.

    On girls getting better grades than boys – Perhaps we need to change the way we educate. Not just boys, but change the way we educate for different types of learners. I definitely fear for my son as he nears kindergarten. Will he be able to sit still and pay attention? Will he be diagnosed for ADHD just because he has lots of energy, as any 5 year old would have?

    PS. I confess I didn’t read the articles closely (or finish them). So please correct any mistakes in my comment.

    September 23, 2014
    • Marie #

      Oh my god, don’t get me started on what type of pictures kids post of themselves (or teenagers). Again, glad we didn’t grow up with that! Identifiers like DOB, location, and such is I think important for not just kids, but adults as well. Like not saying were you are, or that you are leaving town for x-amount of days, etc. so as to avoid potential burglaries or worse things. I was listening to a story on NPR about how there are apps now that can be placed on smartphones which make it easier for stalkers to use. Scary stuff.

      Guys do remember things, but not the same way we do I don’t think. At least I’ve noticed Matt really doesn’t. Maybe my husband is unique in this way, but he doesn’t really care or get emotional if a team he likes loses. I think it’s more because he likes the sport than a particular team. I actually get more broken up if a team I like loses. But he can recite basketball statistics to you and basically knows all the players. However, if today it was declared that basketball is no longer to be played ever, oh yeah, he’d be very heartbroken.

      As far as education, it’s gotten to the point where all that schools do (because this is dictated to them by law and funding) is teach kids how to take tests. It’s frustrating for both teachers and kids. But, in regards to the article, I think they are speaking more to self-discipline (overall) in boys and girls, where the latter has more than the former. It’s been said time and again that boys (usually) don’t mature as fast as girls do. Also they mention test taking where boys tend to do better because of the competitive nature of it, whereas girls will have test anxiety/stress and this can lower their performance. I think also part of it is how they are raised at home; parenting definitely has a lot to do with that. And then of course their own personality comes into the mix.

      September 23, 2014
      • So many things we parents do “wrong” when raising our kids LOL!

        September 23, 2014
        • Marie #

          Ha! I bet your kids are going to be pretty awesome adults. 🙂

          September 23, 2014
  3. Ohhh… thanks for the Wonder Woman article! I just hope I remember to read it. 🙂

    September 27, 2014
    • Marie #

      I figured you’d find that one to be an interesting read!

      September 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

