Skip to content

Writing

Peet's

There are times when Matt gets the “what is English class any good for” question and he has to politely explain to the student that they will more than likely need to know how to read, write, research, and use analytic skills in their day to day lives.

Personally, I would have told such a student to get out of my class and never come back because they are not worth the time and effort. But that’s why I’m not a teacher and my patient, smart husband is.

Point being, we need to know how to write because our lives require it in some form or other. Of course there are some of us who feel the need to just simply want to write everyday or most days of the week. Like blogging. Or microbloging.

I mentioned several weeks back that I had quit facebook. I should say I mostly quit facebook. I keep posting picture/blog updates from my Demitasse Photography facebook page and then reposting it to my personal facebook profile. I wonder if anyone has caught onto what I’m doing.

In any case, I have noticed something strange happening to my news feed since I have stopped liking posts and unliked several other things – it’s as if my news feed doesn’t know what to show me anymore. It will provide me with varied updates each time I open it, even if it’s within minutes (it’s been kind of fun testing this out). For some reason it acts like it’s guessing what to show me.

I’ve also found that I miss reading blog posts from regulars who used to write. I completely understand why some have stopped blogging, and yet I see others posting more frequently on facebook, which makes me wonder if microblogging is winning out over blog posts all together.

It’s been an interesting shift. I think we all want to write in some form or other. Whether it’s in a personal paper journal, a paragraph post on facebook, or a blog post on our own online journal, we want to be heard in a way.

It makes me want to go tell those kids who ask Matt why they have to take an English class that if they didn’t, they wouldn’t know how to write something on their beloved online blogs/microblogs.

Pffft, teenagers.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve heard of people doing that Facebook news feed experiment before. One guy went in and Liked EVERYTHING he saw and liked stuff that Facebook subsequently recommended but only down one level. His feed was flooded. Then he went and unliked it all. The system didn’t know what to do. I’d like to try it via not liking anything and not reading anything but intent work with Katie sharing my account. She scans almost everything in the news feed. No likes really. But she does read.

    September 30, 2014
    • Marie #

      Me too! I think I heard a story about it on NPR. You should try unliking several things. It takes A LONG time though so fair warning. I went to my activity review section and unliked a bunch of stuff. All the way back to when I joined FB (this was done over the course of many, many days). The result, though, is highly amusing. Well, at least to me it is. 🙂

      Oh and Matt deleted his FB account. Couldn’t stand it anymore. Especially after I stopped posting all together.

      September 30, 2014
  2. Interesting. I’ve been on a big FB break and only go on when I have a message I have to read. I’ll have to pay more attention to what shows up in my feed! I do hope that blogging picks back up. I think it might return in a slightly different fashion — maybe once everyone gets sick of the constant advertising and lack of actual word and thought. Maybe people will get back to actually writing like they did in 2007 (myself included.) Fingers crossed!

    October 2, 2014
    • Marie #

      It’s the weirdest thing! I unliked many, many, many previous posts and the like, and that’s when I noticed the change.

      I really hope people go back to blogging! I’ve definitely missed your posts!

      October 2, 2014
  3. I used to ask that about statistics, and yea, stats is everywhere :). Anywho, I sometimes post the same thing to both my blog FB page and my personal FB, but most of the time I keep it separate because I don’t want to flood my friends with post updates if they aren’t interested. I’d really like for people to grow up knowing how to form a complete sentence that is grammatically correct and spelled correctly. The way social media has taken over our young people’s lives, I fear for English.

    October 2, 2014
    • Marie #

      I hear you, I sometimes worry about flooding people. But I also know that not all of my friends follow my photo fb page and are only linked to me through my personal page. Hence why I re-post. In any case, if anyone wants to ignore my posts, they can hide them! 😉

      I fear for English too! LOL, YOLO, BTW is not how we should be speaking English.

      October 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

