Skip to content

Can you breathe?

morning sky

If there’s anything most people share in common around the DC metro area, it’s allergies. And sinus infections/pain/desire to rip them out. The worst is during spring and fall.

But I don’t think I’d ever seen it get as bad as this past Monday. Numerous people I work with, including myself, called in sick. I found out from some friends that they too stayed home, on their couch, feeling like zombies.

Why? Because ALLERGIES.

I don’t know what blooms/falls in this area, but all I know is it knocks down a good portion of the population.

My right sinus was so swollen that I couldn’t breathe out of my right nostril, causing a face ache that felt like someone had taken a sledgehammer to my eye and nose. Multiple times.

I had even used neti pot several times, breathed in steam over hot water, took advil/tylenol/pain medication, drank copious amounts of herbal tea, but nothing seemed to work.

The doctor was my last resort. But she only gave me nasal spray since this was still a viral infection.

Thankfully I turned a corner Monday night (as did many other people I know) and I started feeling better. Swelling began to go down and the pounding wasn’t as strong.

I asked the doctor (again) if it was possible to live without sinuses. Answer is still no.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh my goodness, my allergies are soooooooooooooooooooooo bad this year. I attributed it to being pregnant and hormones, but I haven’t been pregnant in a year, so what the heck??? 24-hr Zyrtec OTC doesn’t last 24 hours for me. I neti pot but then I feel like it gets worse! ARGH! Glad I’m not alone but seriously my son and I want to rip our noses off, especially in the morning. Lucky that my hubs & daughter seem unaffected.

    October 10, 2014
    • Marie #

      They are AWFUL. This fall is pretty bad. I’m taking Allegra every day and do neti pot, but I guess sometimes that doesn’t even help! Hopefully it’ll rain soon and wash those allergens away! Feel better!

      October 10, 2014
  2. It’s no better in Chicago. My butt is getting kicked here.

    October 14, 2014
  3. I’m having them here too and I rarely get them! So weird.

    October 24, 2014

Leave a Reply

