Skip to content

Visual Learner

in a row

I’ve always been a visual learner. In school, I would take in only so much from books and had a more fruitful learning experience if a teacher provided concrete examples I could see with my own two eyes (I had some pretty awesome and creative teachers throughout school).

When it comes to photography, I’m the same way. I’ve bought a few books, read some stuff online, but I haven’t had much luck learning more about the technical aspects of it. The only time I actually did was when I took a class 7 years ago to learn more about how to use my camera and the basics of photography. It was a beginners class, but oh so helpful because it was mainly a visual learning experience.

In a way, I do wish I knew some local, more seasoned photographers so I could tag along and learn from them (without having to pay for a class). (Granted, there are some photographers I wish I could actually follow around and learn from but they are not local.) At the same time, I wouldn’t want to tag along with just any experienced photographer, but one that shared my interest for portrait and lifestyle photography. I want to be able to tell a story with my images and not take them just for the sake of snapping a picture.

Well, maybe one day, right?

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I love your approach to photography (and learning in general)… I am a visual learner too…and I just like to ‘try’ things instead of reading up about them. I think your photos are gorgeous, btw.

    October 22, 2014
    • Marie #

      It’s so much easier when you get the hands on, visual learning! And thank you!

      October 22, 2014
  2. Take a look at MeetUp.com. Tons upon tons of camera groups. My mom was in several in Chicagoland.

    October 22, 2014
    • Marie #

      Oooo thank you! Will do!

      October 23, 2014
  3. I’m a visual learner as well and kinda have a photographic memory in which I can remember where on a page I read something, but not necessarily what I read LOL!!! The only photography thing I’ve ever read was my camera’s manual and a guide on how to use Lightroom. Other than that, I’ve learned a lot from hanging out with photo friends at work but have stopped going to their club meetings because of time. Nevertheless, I’ve always wanted to go on a photowalk with a seasoned photographer (without having to pay either!).

    October 23, 2014
    • Marie #

      I think with photography – and my guess is you’ll agree with me on this – is that we learn more so when we play around with the camera and have a seasoned photographers show us a variety of different things. It’d be so awesome to go on a photowalk with an experienced photographer (minus the current chilly weather)!

      October 24, 2014
      • Agreed! A shoot in the snow sounds fun though

        October 24, 2014
  4. I truly learned the most about photography by doing… over and over again and making many mistakes along the way. I’m still learning! I’d love to hang out and shoot photos with you sometime. 🙂

    October 24, 2014
    • Marie #

      You are one of the photographers I would follow around and want to learn from! (NO, BUT REALLY.) If you ever find yourself in the DC metro area, please please let me know!!

      October 24, 2014
  5. PS. What is your photo website url?

    October 24, 2014

Leave a Reply

