Skip to content

My Superbowl

voted

I don’t ever watch football. In fact, I dislike it. Immensely. I’m always overjoyed when it’s over. But I’m a minority in this respect within the US. Anyone who lives here knows how much Americans love their football.

That’s how much national, local, and mid-term elections mean to me. They are my Superbowl.

I watch them (mainly on Twitter) with high anxiety and nervousness. I wait to see if my team is going to win.

I don’t stand on the sidelines, though. I go out and vote. Ever since I became an American citizen, I’ve been going out and voting.

To be honest, unless you live in a swing state, your vote doesn’t usually count for much on the national level. Local and mid-term elections, however, are a whole different story.

They matter because you are electing individuals who directly represent you in the Senate, House, and your local state government.

Except, sadly, this is when most people do not go out and vote. They wait for the national elections. And it blows my political sensitive mind. Because of this, the whole country has been feeling the negative repercussions of people’s laziness or disregard or whatever you want to call it.

I don’t hide the fact that I’m very much a liberal (no, not a Democrat, a Liberal). And I not only stand for civil rights (women, gay and lesbian, minorities, etc.), but I do want my tax dollars to go to things like education, mental institutions, helping the poor, and not to fighting wars – that are not the US’ to fight – abroad. Nor do I want my tax dollars to go funding foreign governments. I would like those tax dollars to very much help the American people.

If the US really wants to help outside of the US? Then help those countries that do not have good health and education infrastructures build up. Help them strengthen their economies. Helping them, helps everyone globally.

Whether we like it or not, and whether we know it or not, these are the things we are voting on (or not voting on) when we decide to go or not go to the polls. It’s not just a matter of one thing or another. It’s many, many issues.

There’s so much that goes on behind those political doors we’re not privy to, but the one main thing we still can do in this country is go vote.

If you haven’t, don’t complain to me when your representative decides to do something you don’t like. Your local and state vote counts.

#endrant

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    Amen to that (and I don’t mean that in a religious sense, but you know what I mean) . You and I, I think we would get along really well. As we say in German, “we tick the same way” (like clocks). 🙂

    November 4, 2014
    • Marie #

      We would and we do! 🙂

      November 5, 2014
  2. I know, I know. I totally should have voted because I’ve finally realized that these elections matter more than the presidential one. These are the people making decisions that impact my every day life.

    November 5, 2014
    • Marie #

      Yes they are! Next time around. 😉

      November 5, 2014
  3. Wow, so very true. I always feel really uninformed about midterm elections and although I should do my due diligence and research the candidates and platforms, half the time I don’t. (Hanging my head in shame.) Thank you for a good reminder!

    November 6, 2014
    • Marie #

      I think certain candidates (if not most) want to count on people being uninformed about the midterms so that most people will not go out and vote (I’m a cynic). Each time I moved (even before I could vote), I would look up who my local representatives are in government and see what their past record has been on voting for things that I would want them to vote for (or not vote for). I also always make sure I’m registered to vote when I have moved (along with changing the address on my driver’s license). I might be lazy in a lot of things (I really am), but this is one aspect I tend to pay close attention to!

      November 6, 2014
  4. How many times have you been able to vote since being naturalized?

    November 7, 2014
    • Marie #

      I actually looked this up since Virginia keeps a record of it (as I imagine every state does) and so far I’ve voted 4 times since becoming a naturalized citizen (which was back in 2010). There were mid-terms in 2010, then national election in 2012 (plus we had House and Senate reps we were voting for then too), then Virginia gubernatorial elections last year in 2013, and then the mid-terms this year.

      November 7, 2014
      • San #

        I didn’t know that you were ‘only’ naturalized in 2010. Maybe it’s because we didn’t have the right the vote before when we lived and worked and paid taxes here, that made us so passionate about it.

        November 7, 2014
        • Marie #

          I definitely think that was a part of it. I’ve also always been such a poli sci geek. Can’t help myself!

          November 7, 2014

Leave a Reply

