Skip to content

Decisions, Decisions

sunset

I’ll begin by saying that this is definitely a #firstworldproblem blog post so forgive me from the get go.

I’ve been pondering for a while know if I should switch over to an Android phone (which yes, I do know how to use). I’ve had enough of Apple’s incessant updates that screw up my phone (they ALWAYS slow it down), which is never that old to begin with, and fighting for memory.

As you have probably already guessed, I take a lot of pictures with my phone. I see something and I take a picture of it usually with my phone because it’s what is on me. I don’t always carry my handy dandy, love of my life Canon 60D with me wherever I go, along with my prime lenses.

Plus, the only iPhone I’m ever able to afford is the one with the lowest memory available (in the past it was about 8GB, now it’s 16GB). I’ve had to delete apps and remove all my pictures just to update the operating system. I also don’t have that many apps to begin with (zero games, only photo related apps and NPR).

Suffice it to say I’ve had enough of them. The only reason I’ve kept using an iPhone for a little over two years now is because the VSCO app was only available for iPhones and not Androids. I REALLY love that app too. While they have a ton of their own filters, they allow you to play around with settings on your own and create your own filter for an image (i.e. contrast, exposure, saturation, etc.).

BUT now the VSCO app is finally available for Androids. Looks like I might be switching over come 2015.

Here’s my VSCO grid if you’re interested! (Although, if you follow me on Instagram, you’ve more than likely seen many of these photos.)

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I hear you on the memory issue. Sigh. But I love my iPhone. I got 32GB last time and that’s been ok.

    November 13, 2014
    • Marie #

      I really wish I could afford the phone with the larger memory, but it’s just too much which I’m not willing to pay for. Plus I like that the Android phones allow for expandable memory (up to 128GB).

      November 14, 2014
  2. Having just switched over to an Android in Sept (after having the iPhone 4S for 3 years), let me say that I didn’t fall in love with the Android (Samsung Galaxy S5) instantly. In the first 2 weeks of having it, I almost caved and returned it to get the new iPhone 6. Here are my thoughts:

    – Samsung & other manufacturers have proprietary software that runs Android, so each phone will operate differently. If you don’t want all the bells and whistles of those 3rd party companies, get the Google Nexxus. I kinda wish I would have gotten that except…
    – If you’re going to get an Android, get the one with the best camera. Sure, the iPhone 6 has upgraded its camera but I don’t think it’s the best out there. My Galaxy has some cool features like selective focus that I like.
    – BIG SCREEN! Didn’t think I’d like the size of the Galaxy, but after staring at it for a week, then looking at my iPhone 4S, the iPhone was a child’s phone. iPhone 6 is a bit smaller than Galaxy S5 and the iPhone 6 Plus looks ridiculously big
    – Good luck!!!!! It’s a tough decision. Oh, and I should say, I looooooooooooove my Android. I

    November 13, 2014
    • Marie #

      This is really helpful Lisa! I’ve seen the iPhone 6 Plus in people’s hands and it’s kind of ridiculous. Actually it’s about the size of other super large smartphones out there. I thought we were trying to get away from the 1980s large cordless phones???

      That was my suspicion about the cameras. I figured there are other smartphones out there with better ones. I don’t think the iPhone is unique in that way at all anymore.

      I’m definitely leaning more towards the Samsung Galaxy mainly because I do already know the phone (my husband has it and so do both my parents). I’ve played around with it enough that I know it and I’m more comfortable with it. It’s definitely a lot different than the iPhone though.

      I’m hoping there will be some good deals in the new year!! (Or basically right after Christmas.)

      November 14, 2014
      • Join the Samsung club then :). I just wish I could access widgets/apps from the lockscreen like I could access bluetooth, flashlight, etc. from the iPhone lockscreen.

        November 17, 2014
        • Marie #

          Oh I’m on smugmug! I absolutely love it. But I mainly use it for clients, not so much for my own photos.

          It’s funny you should say that about the lockscreen because I always unlock my phone before using any of those particular apps.

          November 17, 2014
          • I wrote Samsung, but smugmug is nice too 🙂

            November 17, 2014
            • Marie #

              GAH. This is what happens when I read too fast. Tsk tsk Marie.

              I’m definitely looking into Samsung! But not until the new year (fingers crossed there are some good deals).

              November 17, 2014
  3. Android had the same problems with updates lately. Many articles I’ve read complaining of iOS updates make note of the similar issues. The only real difference is that you may get more phone for your money.

    November 13, 2014
    • Marie #

      I’m beginning to wonder if these companies do something to the updates to slow down the devices to make you go out and buy a new device (which I wouldn’t put it past them to do). I am really furious with Apple though. I updated both my phone and iPad to ios 8 and now BOTH are slow and freeze up. It’s so damn annoying. Plus my iPad runs perfectly well (prior to the update) so I’m definitely not going out and buying a new one. It’s just the stupid update that slowed it down.

      November 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

