Skip to content

The Week of Parsley

dining with friends

For as long as I can remember, my mother would do her grocery shopping about once a week, come back home, put the groceries away, and clean the vegetables and fruits.

One of those vegetables she would consistently buy (when available) was parsley, the main ingredient of tabouli.

She would sort and bunch them up, the tie them and cut the stems. After that she would wash them throughly and allow them to air dry before packing them away.

The reason was she loves tabouli and loves eating it often. Whenever needed, she would pull out a couple of clean, rolled up bundles and start chopping to make one of her favorite salads.

Just like you would with lettuce.

This week I’ve been in complete parsley land. I bought several large bunches on Tuesday, sorted and cleaned them on Wednesday, and then chopped them up on Thursday night for both a potluck at the office on Friday and a dinner for friends on the same Friday evening.

Even though I’ve made tabouli several times before, I think this was the first time in my life I realized why my mother would clean and sort the parsley well ahead of time – it was so much easier to make the tabouli this way.

It’s a little sad it’s taken me well over 30 years to figure this out and understand it first hand. Though, it doesn’t mean I’ll be going out to buy hoards of parsley to sort through and clean.

Who even has the time for that?

P.S. It was a success both times and I’ll be making it yet again come December.

P.P.S. Lebanese foods takes too dang long to prepare and make.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Such is the curse of your heritage. Get preppin’!

    November 22, 2014
    • Marie #

      Aaaaaack! Can’t do it anymore!

      November 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

