Skip to content

Just Cycle

Local Octoberfest

I’m a day late with my post so I’ll be blogging twice today (!), and I’ve been meaning to share this somewhat funny story for a little while now, but keep forgetting to do so.

A couple of months ago when I first started going to the gym, Matt would advise me on what exercises to do. He showed me a few things with weights and mentioned I should also use the treadmill or cycle for cardio purposes.

I had never used the cycle at any gym I’d been to before (only the treadmill) and the first time I used it at the new gym, it seemed to work fine.

The second and third time, however, none of the cycles I tried to use worked. Essentially, they wouldn’t turn on.

Or so I thought.

One evening when Matt picked me up from metro after work, I started telling him about how I would get on the cycle, push a lot of buttons, but it wouldn’t turn on. Then I would try another one and same problem, it wouldn’t switch on, even though everyone else who was on a cycle was able to turn them on/use them just fine.

“I keep pushing all the buttons but nothing happens! I think I keep getting the broken cycles or something.”

He paused, shook his head and said, “That’s because you have to start cycling for it to turn on.”

“Huh.”

So there you have it. I’m definitely not the smartest tool in the shed. Or in this case, human in the gym.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dawn #

    Hahaha! I’m giggling about this story, picturing you sitting on the bike pushing all the buttons and saying “well this sucks”! Miss you lady!

    November 24, 2014
    • Marie #

      Haha! That was pretty much it! Miss you too!

      November 24, 2014
  2. Ah, self powering bikes. Those were fun to teach people to use when I worked at a gym.

    November 25, 2014
    • Marie #

      I felt like SUCH a fool because I usually know how to figure these things out on my own and didn’t even want to ask gym staff. Ah well.

      November 26, 2014

Leave a Reply

