Skip to content

A Pie Confession

post-rain

I have a confession to make: I don’t like pie. Especially pecan and pumpkin. In fact, they are quite nauseating even when I just look at them. Also key lime and well, any pie you can think of.

Except for apple. I do like apple pie. And that’s only because it has apples, cinnamon, and sugar which are a delight even without the pie crust.

People are usually taken aback when I say this because how can I not like pie?!

Well, I don’t. I love sweets, don’t get me wrong. In fact I love a variety of desserts.

Cupcakes. Donuts. Various pastries. Cinnamon rolls. Fruit tarts.

But not pie.

So when it comes time for Thanksgiving and we happen to go to someone’s house, I usually dread when I have to turn them down for pie. They are somewhat shocked, but what can I say? I just don’t like pie.

I also don’t like things that are cream filled. (Except for cannolis from Mike’s Pastry in Boston.) So if you’re thinking I would like a chocolate or cream filled pie, you’re also wrong. (I love frosting, but cream, not so much.)

Also, please don’t serve me ice cream with apple pie. I don’t like ice cream either. (However, I do love frozen yogurt. Go figure.)

What can I say? I’m an odd one.

Here’s a non-pie pumpkin recipe that I do love and bake every fall (but without the raisins and nuts). Mmmmmm … pumpkin bread.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I was going to say… “yes, another thing we have in common”… I don’t like (pumpkin) pie either. But I LOVE apple pie. And other berry pies, to be honest. And I do love them a la mode. Sorry. 😉

    November 25, 2014
    • Marie #

      I do like apple pie. While I love berries, I prefer them in tarts. But hey, I won’t say no to a berry pie. Every Thanksgiving I’ve been to never has a berry pie. Only apple, pumpkin and pecan.

      I think for me the pie crust is too heavy and too thick. Probably why I prefer that tarts over pies.

      November 26, 2014
  2. I’ll have what she’s not having.

    November 28, 2014
    • Marie #

      *sending your way!*

      November 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

