Skip to content

For the love of

for the love of coffee

In the world of coffee, Starbucks is the name that usually pops up. There’s one almost on every other block in different cities and they can even be found in small towns. I see people Instagram their Starbucks coffee purchases multiple times during any single week and cry a little inside each time.

There’s a heck of a lot better coffee out there other than Starbucks. Here’s a few of my favorites:

Granted, some of the ones listed are local to the DC metro area and some can be found in several places in North America.

But I challenge you the next time you are out and want to grab a cup of coffee to try and find a different option than Starbucks. I promise you, there’s some delicious brews out there that you are missing out on!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    totally agree! I usually only go to Starbucks when nothing else is available. I’ll have to try Illy! And you need to get your hands on some Stumptown.

    November 28, 2014
    • Marie #

      Oooo I’ll need to try it!

      November 30, 2014
  2. Admittedly I’m enjoying Peets a lot since they opened. But in the suburbs, there really aren’t many options anymore.

    December 1, 2014
    • Marie #

      That’s what is really a bummer – the lack of coffee shops (good ones or independent ones) in the suburbs. It’s kind of the same for us here. Luckily I go into the city so I have more options, but it can be quite annoying. Glad you have Peets though!

      December 1, 2014
  3. The owner of Starbucks got his start at Peet’s! If I have a hankering to buy coffee, I’m at Starbucks because it’s the best option around here. But usually, I brew my own Starbucks. Not that I’m saying they are the best, but they are the best when it comes to the convenience options here in the ‘burbs. I would buy from Whole Foods but I don’t go there nearly enough!

    December 2, 2014
    • Marie #

      I hear you. Out where we live there are not many options either. It’s when I’m at work that I can venture out near the office and get some really tasty coffee.

      I had no idea the owner of Starbucks got a piece of Peets! Oh well, they do have good coffee!

      If you are at Whole Foods at some point and do brew your own coffee at home, buy a can of illy or bag of Swings coffee. I promise you’ll be in for a really delicious treat!

      December 2, 2014
      • The Starbucks owner/founder and the owner of Peet’s were (I think) colleagues and then split when they had differences in opinion on how to sell/serve coffee.

        I will try out illy and Swings, thanks!

        December 2, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Favorites | Marie's Café

Leave a Reply

