Skip to content

Tears, Money, and More Tears

fall sunshine

It has taken several tears, many arguments, and a good number of huffs and puffs to organize and furnish our home. From Thursday until today, Matt and I have been going around shopping for various items in our house once again and getting rid of things that we have no use for anymore.

It almost makes me feel like I ran a marathon.

And yet, there is still so much more to be done.

It’s like you pour money into your house and it swallows it up so easily that you get just a quick glance of the new items in it before they blend in right away.

I’m never quite sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. All I know is that home ownership is a financial drain. But it’s slowly coming along.

Oh and we made a huge leap forward in our relationship today – we managed to get through Ikea and out of the parking lot WITHOUT ARGUING. Can you believe it??

I still think Ikea is where relationships go to die though.

Here’s a look at what our guest room looks like and what our office looks like (in case you’re interested).

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I love buying new stuff for our apartment, but yeah, it’s also a money drain (I am glad our space is relatively small, so we don’t really have space for a lot of furniture!). Love what you did with your place! 🙂

    December 1, 2014
    • Marie #

      Thank you! It’s still a work in progress. I’d love to get rid of some stuff and replace it with different items. But that’ll have to wait. Our place is small-ish so we can’t fit that much into it, which I think is a good thing!

      December 1, 2014
  2. IKEA is evil in so many ways.

    December 1, 2014
    • Marie #

      YES it is. It’s where relationships go to die. Also souls.

      December 1, 2014
  3. OMG, that’s hilarious about the arguing at IKEA because when furnishing our first home, we’d ALWAYS fight in IKEA. What is it about clashing tastes in decor that produces a heated conversation, huh? LOL. We’ve been much better since the kids were born. (1) We don’t go to IKEA as much and (2) Can you really argue over cute kid bed sheets and toys??? Maybe. Hehe.

    We’ve been renting for 4 years and I actually can’t wait to own a home again. Actually want to invest in decorating or shelving or being organized.

    December 2, 2014
    • Marie #

      Like I have always said: Ikea is where relationships go to die. I look around me each time and see at the very least one or two couples arguing or giving each other mean looks. It’s hilarious and yet, I understand them completely. 🙂

      I have ups and downs with home ownership – sometimes I like it and other times, not so much (usually when something needs to be fixed).

      December 2, 2014

Leave a Reply

