Skip to content

About Me

winter sunset

I’m always a fan of small business owners, whether they are in my neighborhood or online. If I know I can get a certain item that I want from them, I tend to search them out (flowers, food, books, handmade products, photographers, etc.). Even if they run a little more expensive than large corporations and business chains, I’d prefer to support a small business owner than yet another CEO who is going to pocket the money plus a large bonus.

But I do have my limits.

Like most other people (I’m assuming), I usually check out a business’ website. I’m not going to lie, the more visually appealing it is along with helpful descriptions of the product, the more likely I’ll like it and want to go there (or order an item online).

One of the main pages on a business’ website that I always go to is the About page. I always want to know more about who runs it, how it came about, that sort of thing.

Lately though, I’ve noticed that some businesses tend to mention their religious affiliation in their About section of their website and on their social media.

I have to be honest, that really turns me off and I turn away from requesting the business’ services.

When I am looking for a vendor, I don’t really want to know their political or religious affiliation. The more that it is flaunted, the less I’ll likely go there. (However, I do want to know if a particular business is being racist or bigoted towards certain individuals or groups of people, *cough* Chick-fil-A *cough*, so that I don’t ever go there.)

I can’t tell you exactly why it bothers me this much. It could be that I grew up in a very religious area of the world. It might be that I see politics being poisoned continuously by religion, which is slowly seeping into laws (i.e. women’s reproductive rights).

All I know is that if I see it somewhere on a vendor’s website or in their marketing, I’m likely not going to chose that particular vendor. Even if they are the best or most fabulous in whatever it is they do.

Do religious or political affiliations bother you if advertised/mentioned/marketed in a business owner’s profile? 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bothers me a bit if they list their religious or political affiliations but some customers really care about that. What bothers me more is when the public “bans” companies because of the owner’s religious beliefs. That when people were banning Chick Fil A over something I can’t remember. Anywho, I was trying to remember a local coffee that my Twitter friend swears by and they finally tweeted today. It’s Zeke’s Coffee. Ever hear of them? http://www.zekescoffeedc.com/

    December 4, 2014
    • Marie #

      I haven’t heard of them! Looks like they are bit far from where I work, but I’ll need to check them out at some point.

      The issue with Chick Fil A was that they were giving money to and supporting political organizations that are anti-LGBT (which is a really large group of people). I never went to Chick Fil A before hearing about this (because I really don’t like fried chicken except Bon Chon), but when I did, it disgusted me. Here’s a little more about it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chick-fil-A_same-sex_marriage_controversy

      December 4, 2014
  2. If it is just a matter of them being proud of their religious background, I’m fine with it and I’ll shop with them. If it looks like it is driving them to support prejudiced viewpoints, that’s where I draw the line. I’m not religious but I won’t begrudge others their right to be.

    December 4, 2014
    • Marie #

      I think because religion dictated a lot of what I could or could not do where I grew up, it’s ingrained in me to separate everything from religion. Probably why I get so turned off even when it’s just that the business owner is proud of their religious background.

      I hear you about the prejudiced part. I have a hard time tolerating anyone who is prejudiced. Hmmmm…wonder if that makes me prejudiced??

      December 5, 2014

Leave a Reply

