Skip to content

To Film in 2015

canon ae-1

I’d like to do many things starting tomorrow (i.e. 2015). But as most of you know, I’m not one for resolutions. They come and go and you can make them any time of the year. Or simply drop them.

There is one thing I do want to hold my self to and that will start the very first week of January (which I guess technically is this week right?).

I’ll be holding myself accountable to taking a picture once a week using one of my film cameras. It can be 35mm, polaroid, or (if I ever figure out how to use it) the 500 cm Hasselblad I was given. At the end of 2015, I *hope* to have 52 images created by film.

What do you think? Can I do it? I am pretty fickle. And forget a lot. So don’t hold your breath…

Happy New Year!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very cool looking camera! I like your goal. I have a Canon SLR and some cheap-o film cameras that I found at my husband’s childhood home. Been meaning to shoot with them as well. What film are you using? Where do you buy it? Have it processed?

    December 31, 2014
    • Marie #

      You should!! So far I’ve only used Fuji Film 200 color (I was taking pictures outside and didn’t want/need a high ISO). But right now in my camera (actually the one pictured here) there’s a Kodak 400 color in it. I also have another film that is black and white which I need to put into another one of my film cameras (it’s another Canon).

      For polaroid, I have the small Fuji Instax so I use their film. I love my little polaroid camera so much. Actually I should use it more often. I’ve taken it with me to every one of my friends’ weddings and taken pictures of my friends, then given the polaroid as a keepsake. They LOVE it!

      You can buy film at a Walgreens or CVS. Or you can get them online like at Amazon or Lomography.

      For developing, I have used Mpix.com in the past and they are super quick and efficient. Plus they scan your photos and send you the dvd (more info here: http://www.mpix.com/products/film/). There is also Richard’s Photo Lab (http://www.richardphotolab.com/) where you can send in your film to be processed. They might be a bit more pricey, but I’m not 100% sure. I’ve only ever heard good things about them. There is also a place near my work in DC that I can drop by and give them the film to process. You might want to search and look for any place near your work or where you live to see if there is a place the processes films locally (like a small local camera shop).

      I hope that helps!!

      December 31, 2014
  2. Will you be posting the photos anywhere?

    December 31, 2014
    • Marie #

      Yes! I’ll try to post them on flickr and/or Instagram. Possibly share some here too.

      January 2, 2015

Leave a Reply

