Skip to content

Elusive Sleep

sun beams

I remember loving sleep as a kid. That is, sleeping in. I even remember my parents getting up before me on weekends instead of the other way around. And this was well before I was a teenager.

The love of sleep has followed me into adulthood, even though I have to get up early everyday for work (a little before 6 am).

Some people are early birds and like going to bed early. While some others enjoy staying up late because that’s when the wheels start turning and churning out creativity.

I’m definitely the latter.

Unfortunately, I’ve had this growing dizzy feeling lately. I chalked it up to low blood sugar or possibly slight jump in blood pressure (neither good), and of course have refused to go see the doctor. I haven’t fainted or anything, but several times during the work week while sitting at my desk, I have dizzy spells. I close my eyes and they quickly disperse.

I decided to try a little self experiment. We had nothing planned this past weekend (as opposed to the past several weekends) so we barely did anything, minus a few errands here and there (nothing big). I didn’t even cook.

Instead, I stayed up late watching shows and working on photos I needed to edit and slept in past 11 am. Doesn’t sound like what a responsible adult should do, does it?

Well, to my surprise, that dizzy feeling went away and my suspicions were confirmed: my body likes to stay up late and sleep in by a lot. It’s how it has always liked to function and feels best at this schedule.

Unfortunately for my body this is not how things can be permanently since I need to get up early to go to work everyday. But it got me thinking, what if we could choose what schedule to be on based on what our bodies find to be most comfortable? Would we be more productive? Did humans ever function on a different “sleep schedule” than we do now? (Likely yes, including one we may never have thought of.)

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very interesting experiment! Wish your work was more flexible to let you come in at 11am. I bet we’d all be more productive if we listened to our bodies, and slept and woke when it told us too, instead of listening to an alarm or kids. At least you don’t have THOSE to wake you up. They are even more demanding than an alarm clock ;).

    January 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha! Very true!

      January 5, 2015
  2. San #

    That is a good point. I know a lot of people who would function better on a different sleep schedule. Unfortunately our world doesn’t allow much for personal needs in that regard.

    January 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      It really is unfortunate. Unless you own a small business and can work on your own time (i.e. photography, art, writing, etc.).

      P.S. I’d SO love a nap right now!

      January 5, 2015
  3. my husband is the same way- would sleep late after staying up late. he says he is more productive later in the evening. Ian army eat early in the morning around 7:30-9:30. I can’t seem to go to bed before 11 lately so I’m one tired girl. if I sleep in that means I was in bed until 8:30. Sheesh

    January 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      I wonder if his sleeping habits have had any effect on you? (But I know you have a lot on your mind as well.)

      Sleeping in until even 7:30 am at this point would be a total win for me right now!

      January 6, 2015
  4. Damned inconsiderate employers making us go to work early. Bastards!

    January 6, 2015
    • Marie #

      Right??!

      January 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

