Skip to content

Give me those shots

vaccinate

It’s not surprising that a public health topic is in the news again and is being also touched by political hands. It’s also not surprising that there are people who refuse to acknowledge the science behind this one particular health topic.

Be it personal or religious beliefs, there are people who are refusing to vaccinate their children and now other children are paying the price for it. (See 2015 measles outbreak.)

As someone who has worked in public health for quite a while now and who generally trusts the medical community when it comes to something they have continuously tested over many, many decades, it angers me to no end that there are parents out there who choose not to vaccinate their children.

While it may be a personal choice for them, it is not one for the rest of the community they live in or wherever they may travel. They can, and some are, physically hurting others for their personal choice to not vaccinate (even though several of these parents were vaccinated themselves as children).

No I don’t have children of my own and no I’m not a doctor, but I was a child and I have been vaccinated both when I was young and as an adult. I thankfully do not have any allergic reaction to any of the vaccines I’ve taken, nor have I gotten sick from them.

What I do have is a conscious mind that thinks if I don’t get vaccinated, then I could potentially and fatally hurt someone who has an autoimmune disease or a child who is unable to get the required vaccines.

Do parents not make their children wear seat belts when riding in the car? Do they not require them to wear a helmet when on a bike? Do they not tend to them, and in some instances give them medicine, when they are sick?

Then why not vaccinate to not only protect their children, but also those around them? Or has the first world forgotten what it looks like to have children falling ill and in some cases dying from diseases such as polio and measles? Maybe these parents need to take a trip out to a developing country and get a reality check.

Fun fact: did you know measles is more contagious than ebola?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. YES. THIS! The measles outbreak at Disneyland INFURIATES me. Who gives THEM the right to decide for their children (and the community at large) whether or not to have them vaccinated. Sure, parents have to make those decisions because children can’t, but aren’t we also charged to keep them safe? And if these parents think they are keeping their children safe from autism (or whatever), they have not been reading the reports because there is no causation. I’m glad my kids can and are vaccinated, but couldn’t eradicated diseases (in America) becoming un-eradicated because of parents’ illogical choices not to vaccinate and then disease starts mutating into different forms???

    And children dying to curable diseases in other countries is also maddening. They’d LOVE to vaccinate all their children. These American parents and their entitled-to-my-opinion crap, UGH.

    February 4, 2015
    • Marie #

      You basically summed up my emotions in your comment! Perfectly said! 🙂

      February 4, 2015
  2. I don’t care what Rand Paul and Chris Christie think, vaccination should be a law. And if parents don’t do it, the parents should go to jail and the kids live in a bubble.

    Granted I do understand parents who can’t get vaccinations for kids due to medical reasons like allergies or whatnot but that’s exactly why EVERYONE ELSE should. We rely on herd immunity. Without it, our kids die.

    February 4, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh god those two. Just playing politics as usual. I don’t really pay attention to the stuff that comes out of their mouths.

      I think that if there are parents who choose not to vaccinate their kids (or were not themselves), then really they shouldn’t be allowed other human populations (i.e., can’t go to schools, parks, take public transportation, etc.). Go live away from everyone else.

      February 5, 2015
  3. San #

    Yeah. I. DON’T. UNDERSTAND.
    What are these parents thinking?

    February 7, 2015
    • Marie #

      They are ridiculously paranoid people with who have lost any sense of logic, reason, and mainly science? That’s my guess.

      February 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

