Skip to content

Thursday Morning

3273

I woke up to my alarm this morning and the very first thought that ran – or rather screamed – through my head was NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Just for clarification, I don’t usually wake up to really much of anything running through my head because my brain is very jumbled at that time in the morning and essentially mdafadfahkdfhkasdhajdf blah.

Nothing unusual happened on my ride to metro – thankfully. But as I was riding the escalator up out of the Dupont metro station, the song Everybody Was Kung Fu Fighting popped in my head. I was greeted with the site of a police car parked right on the sidewalk.

I’ll chalk that up to odd, but again, nothing unusual. This is DC after all. So I continued to make my way to the office. As I walked up, I kept noticing more and more police cars. The closer I got, the more security increased.

Weird. Well, not very weird. Motorcades pass through here sometimes, including the President’s.

I shrugged it off and kept walking, finally making it to the office and right to my desk.

I went to ask someone in our office what was happening, because I’m curious, and turns out it’s the annual National Prayer Breakfast. It’s held every year in DC (right here in Dupont!) with a crap ton of political heads that show up.

Apparently this year the Dalai Lama and President Obama will appear together at the event.

And all I’ll see is a bunch of police cars. Ahhhhhh DC, keeping things exciting.

Now back to work.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Funny how we are the last to know about the things going on right around us :).

    February 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha right??

      February 5, 2015
  2. Maybe you had a dream about Obama vs. Lama in a winner takes all underground King fu battle. That would explain all this weird stuff you experienced.

    February 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Yup, I think that’s it. Totally makes sense now.

      February 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

