Skip to content

Friday Flowers

wishing for spring

What is it about the fresh smell of Fridays that makes me want to dance in the street and rejoice in the fact that I can sleep in for the next two days?

Oh yeah, start of the weekend.

While I twirl in my office chair, here are a few things that are making me smile this week.

I almost – almost – peed my pants laughing so hard after watching this clip from The Daily Show. Florida messing with Texas is by far … the most amazing. Also if Congressman Hastings (D) from Florida could run in 2016, that would be even MORE amazing. The man gives exactly 0 f*!ks. Seriously, watch it. You will thank me.

I’ve been on a bit of a cosmic kick for a little while (blame Matt) and picked up The Cosmos by Carl Sagan. I’m not a science-y person in the sense that I can invent things or operate on someone, but I do enjoy learning about, well everything. Ok most things. The world around us (and beyond!) intrigues me to no end. The way the book is written is almost all quote worthy and should actually be required reading in schools. (We had to read one of Stephen Hawking’s books in high school, and no offense to Mr. Hawkings, but I fell asleep after the first page.)

Lastly, I leave you with one of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite humans (for those of you who saw this on Instagram, apologies for the repeat):

The problem, often not discovered until late in life, is that when you look for things in life like love, meaning, motivation, it implies they are sitting behind a tree or under a rock. The most successful people in life recognize, that in life they create their own love, they manufacture their own meaning, they generate their own motivation. For me, I am driven by two main philosophies, know more today about the world than I knew yesterday. And lessen the suffering of others. You’d be surprised how far that gets you. ~ Neil deGrasse Tyson

Have a great weekend!

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes, HASTINGS 2016. He’s my man!

    February 6, 2015
    • Marie #

      Did you watch the Daily Show clip? He is SO SO funny! And without even meaning to be. 🙂

      February 6, 2015
  2. I’ve never tried reading anything by Stephen Hawking. I’ve always wanted to but I have a deeply rooted fear of feeling stupid as a result. Totally irrational, right?

    February 8, 2015
    • Marie #

      Nope! That’s pretty much how I felt…but then again it’s just soooooo boring. (Sorry Stephen Hawking.) I think Carl Sagan and Neil deGrasse Tyson are just better writers. Unfortunately that’s what it can come down to at times.

      February 9, 2015
  3. I just watched that video. Holy balls.

    February 8, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha pretty amazing! 🙂

      February 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

