Skip to content

Of Dreams

reflection

Do you ever have dreams that while they vary in content, they sometimes take place in the same location? A place that you know or knew in your actual life?

It has happened to me on numerous occasions (when I do happen to somewhat remember the dream after waking up). I don’t necessarily remember what the dream was about, but I recall where it took place. It’s the same location over and over again throughout well over a decade at this point.

My grandparents’ house in Lebanon (my mom’s parents).

Sometimes it’s night, other times it’s daylight. Sometimes windy, sometimes cold, other times warm. The people in my dream vary and I don’t always remember them, but it’s always the same place.

When I’m inside my grandparents’ house in the dream, I am safe. But outside, something bad is usually lurking.

The tiles on the floors are the same, the plants outside covering the walls are the same, and even the gate that opened to where my grandfather would park his old Fiat car is the same.

It’s perplexed me each time my grandparents’ home pops up in my dream. Why always the same place?

Growing up, we would go visit them about every other summer, even during the civil war. I felt safe there and at home. I remember my grandparents fondly and miss them more often than naught.

My grandfather would always give me presents in the form of money to go buy sweets or buy them for me. My grandmother warmed me with her hugs and made some of the most delicious Lebanese food I’ve ever had. Then we would share sweets, even though she wasn’t supposed to have any.

I remember giggles and hot summer days, with a cool evening breeze. We would all sit on the balcony in the twilight of evening, light a candle as the sun set, and chat about anything and everything. Sometimes my grandmother would recite poetry (in Arabic) from her youth.

I’m not sure why my mind wanders back to that house in my dreams. But it does. From time to time it brings me back in a contorted way. Then I wake up, confused once again, but go back to remembering all the wonderful memories I made there as a child.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. So wonderful to have a place where both your consciousness and subconsciousness find safety.

    February 24, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you Lisa. That’s a pretty cool way of looking at it. 🙂

      February 25, 2015
  2. A lot of the places that repeat in my dreams have a basis in the reality in which I knew them but are expanded. Like there is a whole aspect to them of which I was unaware. It’s kinda cool and equally creepy seeing these fantastical Escher-esque staircases appear from nowhere in my old college campus. That sort of thing.

    February 26, 2015
    • Marie #

      It is pretty cool, and creepy! But very cool. Our minds are pretty interesting things.

      February 27, 2015
  3. My dreams are always pretty crazy but I can’t say that I go back to the same place over and over. Since you are aware of it, maybe the next time you find yourself there you can try to figure out why you keep going back!

    March 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh man that would be awesome if I could do that.

      March 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

