Skip to content

What to wear?

namaste love

Whether I’m taking yoga, family, or individual portrait photographs for people, I’m always asked the same question – “what should I wear?”

It’s usually quite difficult to generalize because every shoot has to be assessed on an individual basis. What it comes down to is the person (or persons) in the photos. You’ll notice in some cases, there are families who like to color coordinate their outfits (personally I’m not a fan of that). While there are others who will choose something they would wear on any old day.

Then of course there are head shots (which can be done indoors or outdoors – I prefer the outdoor ones myself) and other individual photographs, such as the yoga pictures I commonly take. Whenever I do happen to post one of those images on my Instagram account, you’ll notice the person is usually wearing mainly black or gray. The reason for that is the studio wants the yoga teachers to have a similar “look,” which is black and white with the person wearing simple clothing.

When I get a request, however, to take yoga portraits outside of the studio (as in for the individual themselves), that’s a whole different story. It really comes down to the individual, what colors they like, what suits them, if they enjoy patterns, or even if they want to wear an unconventional workout/yoga outfit (i.e. regular everyday clothing while doing a yoga pose).

I try my best to stay away from dictating what a person should or should not wear because at the end of the day, people know what looks good on them (ok most people I’ve taken pictures for know what suits them).

My favorite is what is most natural to that individual. If they like to be without makeup and their hair up in a bun, then that is fine with me. If they want to be in a business suit with hair all gelled back, then that works to.

When it comes down to it, photography (for me) is about capturing something in that individual, something that is personal to them and only them. To tell a little bit of their story and not airbrush or falsify who they are.

“Be yourself. I much prefer seeing something, even if it is clumsy, that doesn’t look like somebody else’s work.” – William Klein

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I HATE coordinated outfits for family photos. But my mom insists on them. I hate the end results. Look like the promo still for The Goldbergs.

    March 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha! That just put a perfectly hilarious image in my head. 🙂 Maybe do some photos during the year with just you, Katie, and Nathan?

      March 3, 2015

Leave a Reply

