Skip to content

Drum Roll Please

Beach

I was chatting with a friend last week (online) about how everyone now (since the popular birth of social media) announces major events in their lives online through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and even sometimes blogging (although my guess that’s rarer now).

This usually comes in the form of new engagements, pregnancies, jobs, and well you name it. I’ve shied away from such announcements because when it comes to those particular large life events, I prefer to tell those I care most about in person or via phone or email if they don’t live close by.

When Matt and I first decided on getting married (he never proposed, we just talked about it), we told our friends in person if they lived close by and called family members, but also emailed those we couldn’t reach face to face or through the phone. We then asked them to please not mention anything on any social media sites, mainly Facebook since both of us were still on it at the time. In fact, I didn’t tell anyone at work except very few close friends and my boss since I needed to request a few days off.

For some reason, these kinds of things are very personal to me and I want to share them with those I care most about, which doesn’t include the world.

The reverse is true as well – when friends have shared important life events either by calling me or telling me in person (also email if either two are not possible), it has meant a lot. In fact, it’s slightly insulting when I find out through social media (which has been extremely rare).

I’m talking close friends and not someone I went to high school with a million years ago whom I lost touch with, but then they somehow found me through the internet (this mainly happened on Facebook).

I don’t know if it’s because I grew up during the age of land lines and snail mail, but while I do think the internet and social media are extremely useful (I blog, tweet, and instagram after all), I still truly believe there are some things in life that should be shared the old fashioned way. You know, through smartphone text messages, email, phone calls, snail mail, and if possible, in person meet ups.

It just makes it more personal and lovely, showing each other we care.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I COULD NOT AGREE MORE!!!!!!

    March 4, 2015
    • Marie #

      🙂

      March 4, 2015
  2. Just because people announce things online doesn’t mean they *only* announce it there. I told all my family and IRL friends about Nathan a good three or four months before we announced it online. And most people with big announcements that I know tend to do the same.

    March 6, 2015
    • Marie #

      I’m talking more initial announcement. If this is a close friend and I happened to find out about a big life event via social media, I’d be a little hurt.

      March 9, 2015
  3. And here I thought you were actually announcing something ;). I announced my engagement by calling friends. When we were pregnant, we first told our family in-person (or over the phone). Then we gave it a few months before announcing it on the blog and to friends. I didn’t even really announce it on FB because I don’t feel any of them are my true friends.

    March 10, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha! After I posted this I actually thought the same thing – it sounds like I should be announcing something, but I’m not. Tricky titles!

      I like that you told close people to you prior to saying it elsewhere. I think that’s what counts mainly and shows you care, and that these people are important to you.

      March 10, 2015
  4. I’m totally with you! I know I will always reach out to personally tell family and dear friends of the good and not so good news in our life. But, I also vow to raise a son who will not break up with girls (or boys) by text, tweet, snapchat, email, gChat or otherwise!

    March 13, 2015

Leave a Reply

