Skip to content

Weird Central

vintage cycle

It’s not even April 1st yet and strange things seem to be afoot in the DC metro area. This morning I awoke to sirens in the distance and a helicopter overhead. My sleepy self didn’t seem to care so I went about my usual morning routine and headed to metro. (Side note: the sounds of helicopters, airplanes, and sirens is quite common around the DC metro region.)

Once there, I noticed police everywhere. I was intrigued, but just shrugged my shoulders and swiped in through the metro gates to catch the train. Once I settled in a seat, I flipped through Twitter to check for any metro delays and interesting news stories. And that’s when I happened upon the breaking news story that was unfolding via Twitter (I follow local police and news).

A prisoner had escaped from a hospital not far from where we live and fled. He later carjacked two cars and went around trying to get away from local and state police. Known as the “bicycle bandit” because he would rob places and get away on a bike, he was later caught in southeast DC after a civilian saw him and called the police.

During the time local officials were attempting to catch the prisoner who fled, a car chase had ensued in northern Virginia. It looks like a scene right out of a movie. The police had attempted to stop a pickup truck for a traffic violation, but the driver never stopped and a high speed car chase ensued.

Fairfax County and Virginia police had their work cut out for them today.

Of course let’s also not forget the SUV that rammed into the NSA yesterday in Maryland.

In an unrelated story, something odd happened to me yesterday after I finished working out at the gym. I went to grab my things to go shower (because smelly Marie at the office is not very nice) and noticed the oddest thing happening right in front of me.

A woman slightly smaller than me in her 50s was completely naked, and jumping in and out of the different shower stalls. She would hop in one shower stall, turn the water on for a few seconds, and then hop out and into a different shower stall. Then do the same thing. Rinse and repeat that a few times.

I tried not to look confused and shocked, and instead pretended I was hallucinating from the lack of fluids. I went into an empty shower stall and turned on the water. After about a minute or so, it all made sense to me.

The water became almost scalding hot and would not cool down, even after turning it down all the way to “cold.” So I promptly took an under 5 minute shower, but did not do any naked shower hopping.

I’m telling ya, something weird is going on…

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. A precursor for tomorrow :). The shower jumping thing is hilarious. Though I’m glad that woman had a valid reason for doing it!

    March 31, 2015
    • Marie #

      It was super funny to see! I’m also just glad she wasn’t a showering hopping nut or something. 😉

      April 1, 2015
  2. I always blame the barometric pressure when weird stuff like that happens. Funny enough, a prisoner escaped a prison here yesterday, too, by choking a guard, stealing his keys and uniform and stealing a car. WTF?!

    April 1, 2015
    • Marie #

      Holy crap. That’s awful!!

      April 1, 2015
  3. I still win with Mr. Naked Yoga in my locker room some years back.

    April 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh dear. That is never something I ever want to see.

      April 2, 2015

Leave a Reply

