Skip to content

Toe the line or else

treasury

I’ve received quite a bit of slack lately for not wanting to support Hillary Clinton as the democratic nominee for the 2016 presidential race, which at this point I’ve taken personal offense to. I have my own reasons (political and historical) for not liking her as the candidate, but I am not going to share them here.

For one, I can like or dislike whomever I want and can voice my own opinion about it. If you don’t like that, then we’ll agree to disagree or if you want to go to the extreme of never speaking to me again, then so be it.

Second of all, I grew up in the Middle East where you were not allowed to voice your opinion and could only think it. I will not bow down to that again. Not while I’m living in the U.S. where last I checked, I still have the right to say, think, and believe in what I want.

Third, I’ve come across several liberals who also do not like her as a candidate and are quite disappointed in the lack of choices. Why are we to shut up about it and not question why there are no other candidates? Since when did this become a monopoly of sorts? Is the system that broken that the only options which come up are political dynasties or the super PAC rich? Perhaps it’s time for a multiparty system? Because to be honest, the democratic party doesn’t even speak for me completely (which is why I never label myself a democrat).

Fourth, no I will not be voting for a Republican. They are a vile political party with antiquated thoughts and beliefs who have come out again and again and again as being racist, bigoted, misogynistic, highly religious (no place in politics for religion), gun-totting, backwards-thinking, group of people who only care for the rich.

Lastly, no I do not think (any longer) that Elizabeth Warren should run for president. If anything, she needs to stay in the senate and build a strong base that will shift the political current towards helping the middle class and the poor.

I respect your thoughts and beliefs (unless you are spewing hate aimed at others), so please, respect mine.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. No fight from me. While Katie does like Hillary, I’m not sold. Of the candidates who’ve officially entered the race, she’s the best option but there’s still plenty of time. I’ve got people I’m hoping will run.

    April 14, 2015
    • Marie #

      Agreed! We’ll just have to wait and see. Also, I know here in VA we’ll have several local positions up for re-election so that’s going to be very important as well (I’m guessing the same might be for where you guys are).

      April 14, 2015
  2. San #

    I hope you didn’t take offense to our exchange on Twitter. I totally respect your opinion about Hillary (and I share it, she’s not my favorite candidate either)… and I absolutely believe the system here needs an overhaul, ASAP.

    April 14, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh gosh no. I’ve gotten the whole bewildered “why don’t you support Hillary???” question offline for a while now (many, many months). I don’t get why some people are so shocked that I’m basically not a fan. And ironically enough (or well timed maybe?) I got a call from either her camp or the DNC yesterday asking me to donate money for her campaign. I kept saying no.

      April 14, 2015

Leave a Reply

