Skip to content

Teach you say?

a beard and mural

There are three main things in life that I truly believe every human being on the face of this earth, in every country, boy or girl, deserve to have:

*Health services

*Education

*Freedom to think and speak their mind

These are just basics. Unfortunately these three items are not available to many – even in countries like the US.

But for this post, let’s just talk about education. In the US, education has become a luxury item for the rich and wealthy. From daycare all the way up to college. If you have money, you can afford the best.

Many of you who grew up in the US, however, will say that you went to public schools and that you did just fine. Just like my husband, who now is a public school teacher. The only difference is that if you graduated right before 2000, you were not subjected to all the wonderful testing that has encroached on the system.

I’m not here to debate standardized testing because I can tell you as a fact that it’s a waste of time for the teachers, the students, and for the schools. It helps exactly 0 people. You can argue with me until the end of time on this and I know that you are wrong and I’m right.

I’m not just sure about this, I know about this. Hint: it helps being married to a public school teacher and seeing first hand what he goes through on a daily basis.

And it breaks my heart. It’s yet just one more reason I don’t want to have a child and don’t want to put it in an education system that thrives on testing from kindergarten to 12th grade. If I’ve learned anything in life is that tests teach you nothing about the real world. Not even for working in the real world.

All I’m going to add for now is to watch this segment from the John Oliver show that aired this past Sunday. He summarized it all so very well, better than I ever could. So sit back, relax, take a break, and just watch.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Loved the video! My kids have been taking the standardized tests the past few weeks and I agree, they are a joke. Ironically, they’ve been having major problems with the software/program not working, so they haven’t been able to finish them. Back when we homeschooled, I hardly ever gave tests. I’ve never found them to be the best indicator that a child has learned something. And honestly, it makes me want to go back to homeschooling them so we can stop wasting so much time studying for tests rather than actually learning!

    May 6, 2015
    • Marie #

      Isn’t John Oliver the best? Funny and at the same time brings up important issues! I’m so sorry your kids are also having testing issues (more software issues than anything else). I told my husband that maybe homeschooling might be best because all this testing cannot be mentally healthy for kids and it’s not teaching them anything. *sigh*

      May 7, 2015
  2. San #

    The educational system needs a major overhaul. ‘nough said.

    May 7, 2015
    • Marie #

      YUP.

      May 7, 2015
  3. Are you serious with those stupid music videos and pep rally to make standardized testing look fun?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Who had to waste their time making those stupid videos? I completely agree that the increase in the number of standardized tests is STUPID. A waste of everyone’s time because why are we teaching them how to take tests? LIFE IS NOT ABOUT TESTS. Nevertheless, I can’t put my kids in private school. Can’t afford it. I want public schools to improve and want to be part of it. I guess the question is what we parents can do.

    May 7, 2015
    • Marie #

      I love it when parents get fired up about this. Unfortunately teachers and schools can’t change any of this because they get highly, HIGHLY criticized when they try and get severe backlash. My guess is that it’s up to parents and communities to fight back on this. I know some have already started doing so by not permitting their children to take the exams. If enough parents and communities and cities do so, over time this can be removed. Hopefully.

      And I really, really want public schools to improve as well.

      May 8, 2015
  4. Why is so much emphasis put on standardized testing? I never understood that.

    May 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      I really don’t get it either.

      May 18, 2015

Leave a Reply

