Skip to content

Friday Confessions

trail walk

I cuss. A LOT.  People are usually surprised by this because I’m petite and look “cute.” (Please note, I do not think I look cute.)

I don’t think I’m attractive. At all. In fact, men rarely ever hit on me when I would go out with friends. Instead they always approached my friends. I still question Matt as to why he’s attracted to me.

My patience runs quite low very quickly. But I’ve managed to not have outbursts as often as I used to.

I’m not fond of celebrating anniversaries or holidays. But I love birthdays. Not only mine, but Matt’s, family, and friends.

May is in fact my most favorite month of the year. The weather is usually gorgeous and my birthday falls in May! Along with my dad’s and several friends.

I get bored very easily. I’ve actually walked away from people if their conversation bores me. And yes, that is how much of an asshole I am.

My tolerance for self-pity from myself and others is quite low. I think it’s dipped the older I’ve gotten. See my reference to patience. Life is hard. It fucks with all of us because that’s life. If you have a roof over your head, a regular paycheck, food on the table, and clothes on your back, you’re doing pretty damn good in this world.

I’m also highly cynical and very much a realist.

And lastly, I’m an asshole. I may have already mentioned that (also that I cuss a lot). People think I’m nice, which is good because that’s what I usually want them to think. But I’m not really. I’m also pretty selfish. And brutally honest. I’m not going to sugar coat shit for you or myself.

On the other hand, when a friend or family member is in trouble or needs a helping hand, I’ll be right there for them. Sometimes we need to lean on others and that’s totally a-ok.

Oddly, all that stuff is part of why Matt loves me. Yeah I don’t get it either.

Still like me and think I’m nice?

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. You’re pretty much the worst. Fact.*

    *Not a fact.

    May 22, 2015
    • Marie #

      *SNORT* You know me so so well. 😀

      May 22, 2015
  2. “Nice” is over-rated. I need someone real, with character and a backbone. I really resonated with the tolerance for self-pity from myself and others being quite low. I get that there are legitimate reasons to complain and be sad, but usually, the people complaining and being pitiful are those that really have nothing to complain about. I have no time for it. My husband complains, not a lot, but certainly more than I do because I don’t complain at all. Ok, maybe 2% of the time. I just smile and nod and remain silent when I really want to “I’M TIRED TOO!” because that’s what he’s usually complaining about. And I want to add “THEN GET TO BED EARLIER!”

    May 22, 2015
    • Marie #

      Hahahaha!!! My husband keeps complaining it’s not the end of the school year so he can get time off. So you can imagine I tell him to quit complaining a lot of the time too!! 😉

      May 22, 2015
  3. No one has time to pussy foot around half truths. Being honest and open and just saying what you mean will get you further in life than saying what you think others will want you to say. Something I’ve “inherited” from my mum. Only, I’ve learnt to have a bit more tact and intelligence on how to be said brutally honest 😉

    I cuss a lot. My boss and I cuss constantly at work. A co-worker said that they’re never angry enough to cuss and don’t see the point of it. I so wanted to deck him – good thing I work remotely thousands of miles away!

    May 22, 2015
    • Marie #

      Ha! Yup, probably a good thing! 😉

      May 27, 2015
  4. San #

    I still like you and think you’re nice (actually, more than nice.. ).
    Us Germans are considered more straight-forward and direct than Americans, so I think you and I are much alike in the way (and people also always are surprised when they hear me cuss – which sometimes I just can’t help ;)).
    We’re a lot alike, I think… except for the patience-part. I am too patient for my own good sometimes.

    May 23, 2015
    • Marie #

      You are too sweet! Maybe I can teach you how to not be TOO patient and you can teach me how to be somewhat patient. 🙂

      May 27, 2015
  5. Now I see why we’ve never met. You “walked away in boredom” before actually meeting me. Am I that bad????

    May 28, 2015
    • Marie #

      Uhhh…errr…. *walks away nervously*

      May 28, 2015
  6. dawn #

    You’re hilarious!!! And you are too cute! I’m trying to think if you ever walked away from me while I was talking….hmmm…. 😉

    June 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      Ha! Nope, never. I like you too much to ever do that. PLUS you are NOT boring. 🙂

      June 3, 2015

Leave a Reply

