Skip to content

When friends share your love of pictures and coffee

I met my friend Dawn a couple of years back when we were both working for the same organization. I’d actually heard of her before because of the jaw-dropping, gorgeous photos she had taken on the many work trips she went on for our organization. When she started on the project I was working on, I actually sought her out to say “hello!” and introduce myself. I then proceeded to tell her that I absolutely loved her photos and that I’m addicted to photography (turns out she is too).

We hit it off from then and quickly found out we also shared a love of coffee and Tevas. Sometimes it doesn’t take much to start a friendship.

I asked her if she wouldn’t mind answering a few questions for me that I could post here along with a few of her pictures because, well, she is one of my awesome friends (I have several awesome friends). She currently lives in South Africa with her husband and little pumpkin, Ms. Piper whose cheeks I miss squishing. So here goes. (Thanks lovely lady!)

1. When did you fall in love with photography and why?

When I was pretty young, I think around 10, I had a pet rabbit named, wait for it…Thumper, how original?! My dad had an old film Canon SLR and he let me borrow it to take pictures of my bunny. I remember I loved trying to capture the personality of that rabbit on the camera. I also remember being extremely impatient waiting for my parents to get the film developed, but when the pictures came back, I was so excited to see what I captured. After that I was hooked! I borrowed my dad’s camera whenever I could, my parents eventually ended up getting me a minolta underwater snap and shoot, which was awesome and started my love of underwater photography as well. Sometime during college I saved up money and bought my own Canon SLR with a couple of different lenses. My grandfather had a dark room set up that I inherited in college after he passed away and I became hooked on black and white photography and developing my own photos.

I got my first digital camera while I was in Peace Corps in Uganda, a little Nikon Coolpix with 2 megapixels. I was pretty anti digital at first but then I got sucked in by the gratification of being able to see my photo instantly! I couldn’t stand the snap and shoot delay, so I got myself a DSLR as soon as I could. And the rest is history!

Dawn Greensides Photo

2. What is your favorite thing or persons (or both) that you like photographing?

Well my favorite person to photograph now is of course my daughter, Piper. I can’t get enough of her (as you know!). I love taking pictures of anyone and anything, but lately I’ve really gotten in to trying to photograph birds.

Dawn Greensides Photo

3. Name your favorite lens and top three favorite places to photograph.

Hard, hard, hard choice! I love all my lenses. I guess I would choose my Canon 70-200mm f4 L lens as my favorite, although I don’t use it too often because the focal length is a challenge when trying to take pictures of my daughter running around. I love almost every picture I take with that lens though, it is so crisp and the color just pops!

Top three favorite places to photograph – ooooh hard decision….I loved photographing Nepal, the colors, the sites, the history. I also love underwater photography, not too many people get to see the beautiful sights and creatures in the big blue, I get to see them and photograph them! And I guess since I’m living in South Africa right now, that would be my other favorite place, it is a beautiful country!

Dawn Greensides Photo

4. If you had to choose, which would it be: tea or coffee?

Coffee, black!

Dawn Greensides Photo

If you’d like to see more of Dawn’s awesome photos, she can be found here.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. dawn #

    Ahhhh! You are so sweet, my coffee loving, teva wearing, awesome photographer friend! Thank you for giving me a shout out! You need to get yourself on a work trip to South Africa and come play!

    June 10, 2015
    • Marie #

      I WISH! Unfortunately, current project does not work in SA. [Insert several sad faces here.]

      June 11, 2015
  2. I thought you were trying to become a professional photographer not interviewer. Confused.

    That elephant shot is magnificent.

    June 10, 2015
    • Marie #

      But I can be both! Besides, this just my personal blog. So basically I post anything and everything here. 🙂

      June 11, 2015
  3. Great interview – and you’re totally right, Dawn’s photography is amazing!

    June 11, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you! Her photos are pretty fantastic. 🙂

      June 12, 2015
  4. Pretty awesome friend and great photos!

    June 12, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you!

      June 12, 2015

Leave a Reply

