Skip to content

On Phones and Technology

morning cafe glow

I finally broke down and bought a new phone. I wanted to wait until September – October when the new iPhone comes out in hopes that the current iPhone 6 price would drop. But my current iPhone 5 was becoming uncooperative. It had slowed down, the home button wouldn’t work anymore, and the memory space was abysmal.

Part of it is my fault because I had dropped it a number of times (ok several times), and one of those drops (I came to later find out) had broken my screen. Not the type of shattered screen look. In fact, if you look at it, you can’t tell. It’s when I took off the case that I noticed the screen was coming off. I’m guessing this is why the home button stopped cooperating.

Kids, don’t drop your phone.

Granted, it was getting “old” in the 21st century technology definition of old, which means it is over 2 years old. Crazy, right?!

To be honest, I loved that phone. I personally didn’t think Apple needed to improve upon it except for battery life (this is an issue with all smartphones) and bigger memory storage space (I’m not too crazy about paying for extra iCloud storage space).

I went back and forth in my head – get the iphone 6 for $200 (but I’m still not 100% sure about this particular version of the phone) and 16 GB storage space or get the iphone 5s for $150 and 32 gigs of storage space?

Still wondering which one I went for? My priorities in a smartphone are storage space (because all I do is take pictures with the phone and text), price, and the ability to easily carry it around with me.

Since the iPhone 6 64 gigs version cost $300 and it’s still a little too big for my liking (what? I have small hands), I went with the iPhone 5s. Many people might call me crazy because HOW CAN I GO FOR THE OLD MODEL HOLY CRAP?! In which case I say, well…priorities. (Also first world problems anyone?)

If I’ve learned anything about technology it’s that first, wait for the techies to workout the issues that come up with the brand spankin’, shiny new object, and two, get what works best for you. What are you using this item primarily for? What is your budget and how much are you willing to pay? When are you expecting to upgrade again (because we all know that you’ll have to)?

I like to take a crap load of pictures with my phone so I want a good camera (hence why I chose the iPhone and didn’t go with any of the Droid phones) and I need some memory space (since your phone comes annoyingly pre-loaded with apps you never use, space is already eaten up). Plus I wasn’t willing to shell out $300 right now. Sorry, but nope. That’s just way too much. Especially for a phone I’m not completely convinced of (can we please go back to the slightly smaller phones??).

So there you have it.

P.S. I’m a child of the 80s, and I really don’t want to go back to this, even if they are thinner. Nope.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    I totally get it! I love my iphone 5S. As much as I would like to upgrade (sometime), the 6 is teetering on the edge of TOO BIG (and let’s not even talk about the 6+…. a) you can’t hold and operate that with one hand. which I think is the point of a smartphone and b) is this replacing the ipad mini?? Seriously, if I can’t put the phone in my pocket anymore (which I don’t do very often, but def in emergencies!), I don’t want it.)

    Good choice, Marie.

    June 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      Right?? If I can’t hold a mobile phone in one hand, then it is pointless. I’ve seen some that are the size – or very close to – an iPad mini which is absolute bonkers. I actually put my own iPad mini up to my ear to demonstrate to Matt just how ridiculous and large smartphones were getting. It’s just absurd. And thanks!

      June 16, 2015
  2. Whoa whoa whoa, who says Android phones don’t have good cameras? I LOVE my Galaxy S5. Takes better photos than my iPhone 4S did.

    That said, good for you for picking the right choice for you. Bigger screen isn’t always better. I’m hoping to have my current phone for at least 3 years. That makes it worth it for me to switch from Verizon to T-Mobile while paying-off my full-price phone at the savings of my monthly bill.

    June 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      From what I’ve read, the new Galaxy(s) (5-6) are a lot better than their predecessors (Matt, for example has the 4 and his doesn’t take as good pictures as my iphone 5). With each one of the smartphone upgrades, the cameras get better (thankfully). But I do still prefer the OS system over the Android system and that definitely factored in for me. Especially since everything I use for photography (i.e., editing) – including my computer – is Apple.

      Totally agree on the bigger screen. I think that works for some people and that’s totally fine. It really doesn’t for me and I so very much hope that companies don’t start all creating these large, tablet-like phones. I can’t even picture myself using one of those large smartphones as an actual phone!

      June 16, 2015
      • About the big screen, I used to say that O wanted smaller too but I love the larger screen on the galaxy! Not the Note. That’s ridiculous 😉

        June 16, 2015
        • Marie #

          I’ve heard the Note is ridiculous! Isn’t it just basically a mini-tablet? How do people talk on those things?!

          June 17, 2015
          • I’ve actually never seen it in the wild used like that haha!

            June 17, 2015
  3. Apparently the S5 onwards have amazing cameras (supposedly better than the iPhone). I was glad to hear this, because I was despairing that I’d have to switch to an iPhone just because I can’t stand the camera on my droid… but if I can UPGRADE my Droid next time to a better camera, I’m 100% in 🙂

    June 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh yes, I think the S5’s camera is actually better than your current phone’s camera (it’s better than Matt’s current phone too, but he can’t upgrade until August). I hope you can upgrade soon!

      June 17, 2015
  4. You do what you gotta. You didn’t get more iCloud space, did you? Just get Dropbox or OneDrive storage.

    June 26, 2015
    • Marie #

      Nope! I do have Dropbox, which I really like. I haven’t bought extra storage with them, but if needed, I will do so.

      We actually use OneDrive at work, but I don’t really use it elsewhere.

      June 29, 2015

Leave a Reply

