Skip to content

Poking fun and a community’s beliefs

Book of Mormon

This past Saturday Matt and I along with our friends ventured out to the city and watched Book of Mormon at the Kennedy Center. I, along with my friend Alice, had been waiting to watch this show oh for about…many, many, many years now, but we were never able to procure tickets because they were always sold out within 0.3 seconds of going on sale. Except this year WE DID IT.

Attempting to purchase tickets for well over three years aside, we LOVED the show. I think we were all laughing-crying for the majority of it.

If you like South Park, crass, and satirical humor, then you will love this. (I say South Park because the makers of the show wrote this Broadway hit.)

But if you don’t like religion being made fun of, then you will definitely not like this. Most especially if you are Mormon, who, by the way, took out ad space (3 pages) in the playbill for the show to advertise about their church.

The next day, while Matt and I were still chuckling over how hilarious and quite awesome the show was, a thought popped into my head about religion and comedy.

I have to give Mormons a lot of credit. In fact, if I could, I would high five one of them right now (preferably one of my friends because they are in fact some of the nicest people). Why you ask?

Well, a very popular Broadway show makes fun – in a very, VERY extreme manner – of their entire religion and beliefs. It’s highly likely that this show is very offensive to believers of the Latter Day Saints Church.

Except, they have not – since the show opened on Broadway in 2011 – ever reacted in a violent manner. I don’t think they have even held picket signs and protested. And for that? I want to high-five them.

Compare their peaceful or rather non-reaction to those of other faiths, some of whom have gone so far as to resort to violent means against those who have made light of their beliefs.

Think about that for a second.

So while I did find the show to be worth every single penny and hands down one of the funniest I have ever seen, my kudos goes out to the Mormon community for essentially ignoring it and not reacting in a violent manner. It’s a shame others can’t take a page out of their book, so to speak (metaphorically that is).

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. For sure. I saw Book of Mormon in the West End in London a couple of years back and it is hysterically hilarious. Though i think it pokes fun at religion as a whole, not just Mormonism. Mormons just seem to be the target here, and they’ve been able to take it on the chin. Few organised religions are able to do that!

    June 23, 2015
    • Marie #

      It definitely does poke at religion as whole, but like you said, it is more targeted at Mormons. Sort of like giving them as an example in a way. I wish more organized religions could take it like they do. We might have less violence in the world!

      June 23, 2015
      • Tell me about it. Feels like everyone uses religion as their armour these days.

        June 23, 2015
  2. I guess I never noticed that fact. Very interesting!

    June 23, 2015
  3. I really wanted to see this when I found out it was coming to Chicago but they ran commercials every half hour on all Chicago affiliate stations leading up to and during the run. We were so burned, we wanted nothing to do with it.

    June 26, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh wow that is a lot of commercials. I don’t think I’ve ever heard even one commercial here for it. Only ads on the subway for it and that’s just been something very recent. It was really good!

      June 29, 2015

Leave a Reply

