Skip to content

In Tandem

green camouflage

Each year sometime during the summer, I look back at the past year and reflect on my time with Matt. I don’t know why I always do so this time of year since it’s not an anniversary for us (not that we even celebrate any anniversary), but for some reason it pops in my head.

As always we have had good times and not so great times. We’ve argued, laughed, and passed out on the couch from work exhaustion as per the usual. We’ve been hounded by family about kids – that we should have them, especially since the world needs more smart, liberal people (no really, we have been told this). We are a year older, possibly not that much wiser.

Most of the same, but a little more attached to each other.

I’ve said it before – and told friends – that the first year of marriage was by far the worst (also apparently we are not the only ones with that same experience). With each passing year it has gotten better and better. We learn a little more about each other in small, everyday ways that only we would notice.

We forgive more. Saying “I’m sorry” and sometimes letting things go gets to be easier (at least for a very stubborn individual such as myself – I can’t even stress how stubborn I am). We worry a little more about each other and we’re closer than we have ever been in the eight years we’ve been together (almost four of them marriage).

He’s my best friend and partner for life. With each year that passes, I love that bearded man even more.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. So great to take time to reflect on your marriage regularly. And I totally agree that the first year, actually, first FEW years, of marriage have been the toughest. It wasn’t really the married part that was hard, it was adding in LIFE that made things challenging. First the dog, then a kid, then another dog, then another kid. We’re definitely still working hard but maybe not as hard and I can’t even imagine the satisfaction of being married 25 years. You can look back and be really proud of all that you’ve been through.

    June 30, 2015
    • Marie #

      So so true! It’s hard, but the more that you work together at it, the better it gets. Plus it also helps to keep liking each other. 😉

      June 30, 2015
  2. I think Chris and I are about the only people who didn’t think marriage changed much for our relationship. Mainly I think it’s because we’re both too lazy to argue. 🙂

    July 1, 2015
  3. Almost four years? Seriously? I can’t believe it’s been that long. Well this almost has the feel of a (non-anniversary) anniversary post so… Happy non-anniversary, you two crazy kids. Have many more.

    July 2, 2015
  4. I’m wondering if marriage would change my relationship, but I almost think it wouldn’t. Ryan and I have been together for almost seven years now.

    July 9, 2015
    • Marie #

      Every relationship is so unique. I think for some it might and others it might not.

      July 10, 2015
  5. San #

    Loved this. ❤

    July 21, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you!

      July 22, 2015

Leave a Reply

