Skip to content

Shift Your Focus

morning jasmine

I think we sometimes tend to focus more on the negative in life because it has more of an impact on how we think and on our emotions. Which leads us to not always sharing the everyday, simple good things that do happen.

My two weeks in Lebanon, while stressful and quite emotional, were also filled with some very sweet moments.

I got to see some family members who also live outside of Lebanon and visit during the summer.

I spent a little bit of time with my close childhood friend and met her little boy.

The weather was almost near perfect while I was there so we would sit in the garden early in the morning, drinking coffee before heading out to the hospital to see my dad or heading to a doctor’s appointment (for my dad).

My mother cooked delicious, homemade Lebanese food for me that I can’t have or find here.

A couple of family members who live up in Northern Lebanon were able to come and visit for a day.

And then there was that sweet smell of Jasmine that I missed so much. It grows in my parents’ garden and you can smell it each time you go outside. I had missed that smell.

Sometimes it’s the small things that happen in life that can turn things around. They may not be life altering, but they can definitely make difficult times a lot better.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #


    Hang on to these memories! They're precious.

    July 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      That they are for sure.

      July 28, 2015
  2. Did Matt go with you?

    July 29, 2015
    • Marie #

      Not this time. He’s been with me before, but it’s too expensive for two people to go.

      July 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

