Skip to content

Maryland Brewery Tour

Back in June, we went with a couple of our friends on a Maryland brewery tour. We traversed (some of us did) the capital beltway and made our way to Jailbreak, Charm City Meadworks, and Heavy Seas.

I should note that both Jailbreak and Heavy Seas brew beer, but Charm City Meadworks makes mead, not beer. If you’ve tasted both, then you know they are very different.

I’m not entirely sure, but I’m guessing that most people liked Heavy Seas, but my favorite was Jailbreak by far. It really comes down to, though, what type of beer – or if mead is your cup of alcohol – you like. I’m not a fan of bitter, very strong, or thick beers. I love my wheat beers and the occasional pilsner (if it’s not too light). Which is why Jailbreak was my favorite.

This isn’t to say we didn’t have loads of fun. Because we did. Beer + Friends = Fun. It’s just Science.

MD Brewery Tour - JailbreakMD Brewery Tour - Jailbreak MD Brewery Tour - JailbreakMD Brewery Tour - Jailbreak MD Brewery Tour - JailbreakMD Brewery Tour - Charm City Meadworks MD Brewery Tour - Charm City MeadworksMD Brewery Tour - Charm City Meadworks MD Brewery Tour - Charm City MeadworksMD Breweries - Heavy Seas MD Breweries - Heavy SeasMD Breweries - Heavy Seas

Full set of pictures can be viewed here.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. I really WISH I liked the mead, because it’s certainly very interesting and seemed well made (and also is so pretty!). But. Yeah. Sadly no.

    July 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      I liked I think two of the flavors, but I would drink the beer over the mead. I really want more Jailbreak beer.

      July 27, 2015
  2. San #

    This whole brewery tour thing sounds intriguing (and looks like fun), if only I liked beer… can’t there be any “coffee roasting tours” somewhere?

    July 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      Ha! I bet you somewhere there is! Actually I think there is somewhere in middle of nowhere Virginia which we happened upon, but it was closed. I know, random.

      Also, you don’t like beer?? But you’re German! (Do you get that a lot? I bet you get that a lot.) 😉

      July 27, 2015
  3. What fun, a tour of different breweries! I’d love to tour some coffee roasters :).

    July 28, 2015
    • Marie #

      I’d definitely go on a coffee tour, but the brewery tour was loads of fun too. 🙂

      July 28, 2015
  4. I’ve never heard of any of them. And tell that woman to get her arm out of your beer. That’s unsanitary.

    July 29, 2015
    • Marie #

      They are all very local, and I’m not sure any are sold outside of this area. But I’m not sure about Heavy Seas. We definitely find it in stores around here so it might be elsewhere around the country.

      July 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

