Skip to content

Richmond Brews

We headed down to Richmond this past weekend to visit a good friend of mine from grad school and go around a few local breweries, because checking out local beer is apparently our thing now.

This is what happens when you hit your 30s folks.

We started out at Strangeways Brewery which had a pretty interesting mix of beers. I mainly tried their Beligian-styled beers and one of the favorites there (for me) was the Albino Monkey. Yes, they do have interesting names for their beers.

The second place we went to was Ardent Brewery, and after tasting their Szechuan Peppercorn, I didn’t want anything else. It was the one I liked best (even though we did get a flight of tasters).

Lastly we hit up Isley Brewery that had a very tasty PB&J dark beer. It went down quite smoothly and I sort of wished I was eating a PB&J while drinking that particular beer. Again, there, I chose some of their Belgian/white-style beers and of course enjoyed them.

What can I say? I like Belgian white beers. Hands down though, my favorite beer from this particular trip was Ardent’s Szechuan Peppercorn. I even surprised myself (and Matt) in liking it so much as I usually am not a fan of that kind of beer. I guess they got the perfect mix!

cheers!Strangeways Brewery Strangeways BreweryArdent Brewery Ardent Breweryall the fun Isley Brewery

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. dawn #

    Fun fun! I miss good beer. Come visit us here for good wine! 🙂

    August 11, 2015
    • Marie #

      Ha! I wish!

      August 11, 2015
  2. So how many new beer glasses do you now own? 😉

    August 11, 2015
    • Marie #

      heh, just the one 😀

      August 11, 2015
  3. Peppercorn beer? Who would have thunk it! I’ll have to find it.

    August 12, 2015
    • Marie #

      It was really good! I don’t know if it’s possible to find this particular one up here as I think they are very local to Richmond, but something similar to this one would probably be tasty as well.

      August 13, 2015
  4. Very, very jealous of all those beers. That PB&J one sounds divine.

    August 13, 2015
    • Marie #

      It was pretty good! Still would have liked a pb&j sandwich to go with it. 😉

      August 13, 2015
  5. I can think of far worse “our things” to have.

    August 19, 2015
    • Marie #

      Haha too true!

      August 19, 2015

Leave a Reply

