Skip to content

Stickler for Credit

unleash the artist

People are so lazy. And with the internet, we’ve become even lazier.

I’m a stickler for giving credit when I am referencing something or someone’s work. This has been ingrained in me since school and it’s probably the reason why I made sure that every paper I ever wrote was cited and sourced properly.

Unfortunately, not everyone thinks this way, especially when it comes to photos or even other pieces of art, and oh boy does it irk me.

Photographs, art, and designs are not to be used freely without credit and in many cases, payment. Photographers, artists, and designers take time to craft their art and really, it is their’s to begin with. Copying and pasting it from a Google search does not make it your’s.

Here’s how I usually explain it to others: if you worked on something and put it out in the interwebs for the world to see, but someone somewhere grabbed it and used it as their own without asking you or attributing it to you, how would it make you feel?

It’s outright stealing. Even if it’s a cell/smart phone photo, it’s stealing. The very least you can do is provide attribution. You should really ask the individual if you can use their work, unless they have already specifically stated how the photo/design/piece of art can be used (which a lot of the time they do).

It really is NOT ok. Stop doing it. Give credit where it is due. When required, ask permission.

Oh and the above photo is mine.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very appropriate photo! Did something happen to one of your photos recently? That would suck. I also believe in giving credit where it’s due! But products I don’t get consent because is Pepsi really gonna care I used an image of their product? Prolly not. But I’ll give the source nonetheless.

    It’s just so easy to post other people’s things – pictures, words, etc. Anything you post online is at-risk of being stolen.

    September 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      No thankfully! Well not that I know of at least. It’s just something I’ve noticed happens in a work environment or things I’ve seen online.

      September 2, 2015
  2. San #

    Yes.

    September 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      *like*

      September 2, 2015
  3. Yes to all of this. What especially riles me up is when I see “Google images” as the photo credit for a photo. Ugh.

    September 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      Oh that really annoys me.

      September 3, 2015
  4. No it’s not. That’s my photo. Thief!

    Seriously, though, great post I agree with 100%. I try to give credit when I can. It’s not always possible, though, on the web. Thankfully my blog is not for profit so there’s little guilt when I can’t credit.

    September 6, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September Link Love |

Leave a Reply

