Skip to content

We’re all coming from some place else

It’s been about five and a half years since I officially became an American citizen, even though I’d been living, studying, and eventually working in the U.S. a lot longer than that. I knew that some Americans didn’t – and still don’t – like Arabs. We’re the bottom of the barrel when it comes to immigrants, so to speak.

Just like any other immigrant population that has come to the U.S., we are clumped together as one large group and many assumptions are made about us. Never mind that the individual countries we originated from have their own culture, food, history, ethnic groups, religions, etc. Some people even think that our skin coloring is the same (I can’t tell you how many comments I’ve gotten about this and I usually just let the idiot keep digging a hole for themselves).

So when I hear people saying, “We need to take America back!” I cringe. Take it back from whom? Do you want all of us non-white and non-European people to leave and go back where we immigrated from? Bet they do. To me that just screams racism.

Which brings me to the Syrian refugees. My heart absolutely aches for them. Every time I see a story about them on the news or read about what’s happening, I tear up. I’ve seen it before with the Lebanese during the civil war. They are being treated like pure garbage by so many European countries (except Germany – yay Germany!) and it’s heartbreaking.

Humans can be so malicious to the point that it is sickening. Physically sickening. We all come from somewhere. In fact, scientists and archaeologists have traced us all back to the African continent. Our ancestors traveled to different continents throughout time, but we all come from somewhere. We’re all human beings. We come into this world the same way and we eventually all leave it, taking nothing with us. So why this awful hatred towards each other?

I think John Oliver did a great job summing up the Syrian refugee situation best. If you haven’t seen it, sit back and hit play (it’s about 18 minutes long).

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I swore I left a comment here. Not showing?

    October 8, 2015
    • Marie #

      Hmmmm it’s not showing. I also checked spam just in case and nothing there either. That is weird. :/

      October 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

