Skip to content

Well crap, here we go again

red berries

I’m looking at the calendar and dreading the end of October. It’s getting close to *that* time of the year again.

I’ve complained about *that* time of the year approximately 2348276872642 times so most of you, my 5 readers, know what I’m talking about.

In case you don’t, here it is simply put: I am the Humbug to everyone’s cheer, the Grinch in a sea of smiling faces, or rather the Scrooge during everyone’s Christmas.

Boy do I strongly dislike the Christmas season, which starts exactly – wait it’s already started. The fake trees are up, the red and white and multicolored decorations have vomited everywhere, and families have already amassed (or almost) all the Christmas presents.

Every year I lay awake as fall creeps in (but actually I do love fall), hoping beyond hope that somehow this will be the year that the holidays magically disappear and everyone forgets they ever existed.

But every year I’m disappointed the holidays show up yet again and I brace myself until the dead of January comes in which I can simply relish that there is absolutely zero things to gush over.

Awful right?!

I’ll let you in on a little secret that’s really not a secret, but here it is anyway: I miss my family and spending Christmas with them. It’s just yet another year and another painful reminder that it isn’t possible anymore. More tears will flow, more anger will spill until January 1st hits.

I’ll envy all of my friends and even Matt, and all those on the interwebs that can spend those warm moments with their families over home-cooked meals, because I’ll never have that again.

So, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be holding my breath over here, waiting for this god-awful horrendous season to pass through once again.

(On the plus side, I upgraded my Hulu subscription to No Ads, which means NO HOLIDAY/CHRISTMAS COMMERCIALS!!! Hey, I can find joy in something.)

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. So Hulu “no ads” is a step up from Hulu Plus? Because Plus still had ads, right?

    October 20, 2015
    • Marie #

      Yes! I already had Hulu Plus (for a really long time, also we don’t have cable). But recently they offered the option of upgrading from that to no ads, so I switched and upgraded my subscription. I have to say it is a heck of a lot better without ads. I just don’t have the patience for them anymore.

      October 20, 2015
  2. Those family moments are why I enjoy the Christmas season, so this makes me very sad indeed 😦 Bury your head in some Hulu-goodness… !

    This year’s the first time in 3 years I’ll be having a family Christmas – and then I don’t know when this will happen again!

    October 20, 2015
    • Marie #

      Definitely savor it!!

      October 20, 2015
  3. San #

    I think Christmas is the only thing we disagree on *hehe* because I love Christmas…. well, I love Christmas when I can spend it with my family and since I won’t be going home for Christmas this year (which is the second year in a row), I start to feel a little resentment towards the holiday for sure. So, I know where you’re coming from…

    October 21, 2015
    • Marie #

      I think my resentment has built up through the years because I didn’t used to feel like this about the holidays. I actually liked it. But with what’s happened with health issues and being so far and other things has made me really dislike this time of year unfortunately.

      October 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

