Skip to content

Sharing the difficult things

Untitled

I didn’t want to write about this again because things – good and bad – happen to all people. I along with my family are definitely not unique in that way. In fact, we have a lot of things to be thankful for.

But the reason I’m writing this time is to ask you for a favor, if at all possible.

I’m not going to rehash what happened to my dad this past summer while I was in Lebanon, and if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you can read the post here. Suffice it to say my dad had to be admitted into the hospital again yesterday after doing what has come to be a routine blood test (he gets regular blood tests done by his cardiologist and hematologist every few weeks to see how he is reacting to the medication they have him on).

I didn’t find out until this morning because I happened to call my parents to check on them since they “fail” (or rather don’t want to “burden” me as they put it) to tell me about these sorts of things.

In any case, I had been noticing when I would speak to my dad on Skype that he looked unusually tired the past week or two. During his routine blood test yesterday, his doctor found that one of the medications he is on must have dropped his red blood cell count by a lot, so he had to be admitted, was given a blood transfusion, and is now being monitored.

My mom said he’s doing much better today and even my dad said he feels a lot better. I half believe them because, as I mentioned, they usually fail to tell me about health-related issues so I’m never 100% sure if they are trying not to worry me or if my dad is genuinely feeling better. Hopefully he’ll be going home tomorrow.

Fingers crossed.

Let me circle back around to the favor I’d like to ask. My dad has blood issues (had them for a couple of years now) and his doctors don’t know what the exact cause is (it’s not cancer), but they are treating him and doing their best (he has some pretty good and wonderful doctors – to this I can definitely attest to since I met all of them this summer).

If you are able to and haven’t ever done so or haven’t done so in a while, I’d like to ask that you go to your nearest blood donation center and either donate blood or platelets, wherever you are in the world. I’ve booked an appointment to do so myself later this week.

If you cannot donate blood, I ask that you might think of donating money or your time. It’s just one way we can help those who are in need when an emergency hits.

I hope and pray my dad will be ok.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    Oh, Marie, I hope your Dad will be better quickly! I know too well how hard it is to be so far away when “stuff happens”…. and what is it with our parents not wanting to “burden” us and not telling us what’s going on with them?? My parents do that too and it drives me nuts!

    Since I’ve been the recipient of a blood transfusion myself in the past (when I had anemia), I know how scary this can be.
    At the time, I wasn’t allowed to give blood and I am not sure if I am allowed now, but maybe I should find out again (since my anemia has been gone for a while and I am not on iron supplements anymore). But yes, everyone should go out and do something! This stuff saves lives!!

    October 21, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you very, very much! I hope everything will be ok. I spoke to my mom again and it sounds like he’s doing just fine.

      October 21, 2015
      • Oh that’s good! But I will wish him long health ahead too.

        If it isn’t blood I can donate, I’ll donate money.

        October 21, 2015
        • Marie #

          Thank you Lisa!!

          October 21, 2015
  2. Hoping everything is okay! xo

    October 22, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you! He’s doing much better. 🙂

      October 22, 2015
  3. I hope and pray he’s okay too. And it is time to donate again. Been about half a year.

    October 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you! He’s doing better, thankfully.

      October 28, 2015
  4. YIKES i got behind on blog reading and missed all of this!!?! EEK. Well on the upside I did just give blood on Monday, so yay..?

    November 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Yay! You donated! But you usually do because you’re awesome like that. 🙂

      November 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

