Skip to content

Travel Time

morning metro

If you live in the Metro DC area, then you either walk, bike, drive, or take metro to work.

In our household we have just the one car (can’t afford another one and really we don’t want a second car because it means taking care of yet something else).

We also work in opposite directions, which means I can’t ride with Matt in the car to go to work and he can’t take any sort of public transportation to where he works (mainly because it is nonexistent).

So I take metro and Matt drives to work.

I work about 16 miles from where we live, while Matt travels about 32 miles.

Because metro is terrible, I get up at 5:35 am, wash my face, get dressed, grab my stuff, and when the weather is ok, I ride my bike to metro (otherwise I take the bus). Once I hop on metro (and fingers crossed nothing goes wrong at that time in the morning – most breakdowns start happening around 7:30 am), I get to the office between 7 am and 7:15 am.

Matt gets up around 6:20 am and leaves the house at 6:40 am. Guess what time he gets to work? Around 7:15-7:20 am.

I’m charged around $50 per week to ride metro, which is around how much Matt has to put in the car for gas each week (this fluctuates based on gas prices so it can go up or down). Granted, I don’t have to pay maintenance fees, taxes, upkeep, etc., but hot damn that’s expensive to ride public transportation.

As one metro rider on Twitter said, metro riders in the DC metro area (which includes Maryland, Virginia, and DC proper) are charged “champagne prices for moonshine service.”

While I actually like where I work, commuting around here is kind of like our own circle of hell (no, but really, ask any commuter).

And if you want to tell me that hey! at least you can read on the train Marie! Well let me tell you what, at 6 am it’s the last thing you want to do on the train, and on the way back home, we’re packed in like sardines (literally) that it’s impossible to even lift up an arm to look at our phones, let alone hold a book to read.

Happy Monday! Hope this week goes by smoothly without any ridiculous breakdowns.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ha – sounds like London.

    October 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      Really?? I had a slightly better experience when I was in London for the few months I was there, several years ago. While it did breakdown, the lines there take you to a lot more places in the city. Plus the yellow circle line really helps (we desperately need something similar here, but there’s no money for it). Granted, it got pretty hot in there! Especially in the afternoons coming back home from work.

      October 27, 2015
      • I lived in the suburbs. North West of London. Getting to West London took me double the amount of time it’d take me to drive. Same with the East end. It’s fine when you’re in the city, more frustrating on the edges. And they have this incredible habit of closing certainl lines on the weekends. Usually when I had the need to use public transport. It’s not a bad system, just expensive and incredibly old.

        October 27, 2015
        • Marie #

          Ahhh ok! They do the same thing here! They shut down stations on some (sometimes all) lines, one of them which I use. It’s easier for us to drive on the weekends than take the metro. One of the best systems I’ve been on is Paris. I also like New York’s.

          October 27, 2015
  2. When I worked in downtown Chicago, I took a local bus from the end of my street to the train station and then Metra trains into the City and walked. It wasn’t cheap but it wasn’t terrible either. Now, though, the prices are ridiculous. I don’t know how anyone can afford it. And we have the same quality and reliability of operations as well. Blech.

    October 27, 2015
    • Marie #

      Public transportation really needs to improve in this country and needs to be affordable.

      October 28, 2015
  3. San #

    I know all about the “being packed like sardines”… that used to be the same during rush hour when I commuted to college back in Germany. You’d think they’d start adding some extra trains to the schedule.

    October 29, 2015
    • Marie #

      I would have thought Germany has a really good system! Maybe they eventually added more trains during rush hour? Here they don’t like doing that, but have been forced to recently because they are not running trains as often as they should during rush hour.

      October 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

