Skip to content

Gimme your blooooood

Blood Donation

I don’t know if this is other people’s experience with donating blood, but here’s mine.

The first time I donated was several years back, right after work. While I had eaten that day, I had not had anything to eat prior to giving blood. Probably not so smart. I’m also about 5’2″ (fine 5’1.5″) and was in the upper 120s pounds-wise. I’m not fond of needles, but once it goes in (I usually look away), I’m totally fine.

Here’s the weird part (or not so weird?), right after they take the blood they need, and the needle comes out, this is when I start feeling queasy. I become white as a ghost (literally with zero exaggeration) my stomach starts doing twists and tumbles, I feel like I want to throw up and diarrhea at the same time, and I get cold sweats.

Basically I’m guessing this is the feeling one gets right before they die after Dracula/other vampire sucks their blood out. Maybe.

I was fine after about 15-20 minutes and after sipping some water and juice.

This time around I thought, “I’m going to go prepared!” So I had two eggs sunny side up for breakfast, and after a photoshoot, I had lunch with Matt at Cava, which consisted of veggies and chicken.

Good right?

Ha! Nope. Same thing happened all over again right after the needle went out. I’m chalking this up to my smallness.

Again, I was fine after about 10-15 minutes.

While I was feeling iffy, the nurses tried to ask me what I had eaten that day and I couldn’t answer for fear of throwing up on them. Oddly, in my head, I thought that was funny.

I find humor during very weird times.

Before I left (and I was totally fine plus Matt came to pick me up), they ordered me to go have a steak and potatoes dinner. I, of course, followed medical advice and did just that.

I’ll totally donate in the future. Just to have the steak and potatoes dinner again of course.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ha – so this was me the first time I gave blood. Vividly remember being perfectly okay the second they took the needle out, it was only when I was sitting having some juice and a biscuit. Talking to my work colleagues sitting opposite me in the little blood mobile, then suddenly I couldn’t hear them and for some reason they were slanting. I got them cold sweats too!

    Subsequent times it’s been pretty uneventful, as far as I can remember.

    But hey, least it’s a good reason to eat a ridiculously big meal after?

    October 28, 2015
    • Marie #

      Exactly!!

      October 28, 2015
  2. I’ve never gotten queasy from donating blood and have done it a couple dozen times over the years. I’m thankful for this as a negative experience makes me wary of doing something again.

    October 28, 2015
    • Marie #

      I wish I wouldn’t get so queasy. It’s actually what stopped me from donating for a really long time. I’ll definitely do it again, just not too often!

      October 29, 2015

Leave a Reply

