Skip to content

The Untold Story

Friday Metro

Photo: iPhone, vsco cam edits, Foggy Bottom metro, DC

Remember when a homeless man in DC came up to ask me to take his picture and those of other homeless people? Because he thought I could somehow tell his and others’ story through my photos.

I left out a part of that story. Not on purpose, but I’d wanted to mention it another day, another time.

While I was waiting at the park that morning looking at the people around me well before the man came up to talk to me, I saw a car drive right up into the park and stop.

Mind you this is one of DC’s many small, circular parks in which right smack in the middle is George Washington on a horse. Encircling his statute is grass and around that is cobble stone where benches are scattered around along with some bushes and trees.

It’s nothing fancy, just another circle to cross through for pedestrians to get to another side. And were the homeless come to sit or sleep sometimes.

So the car. A woman who appeared to be in her 60s or possibly 70s got out of the driver’s side and opened her trunk. As you can imagine I was pretty intrigued so I continued to watch her.

She took out paper bags, as many as she could hold in both arms, and walked over to the homeless in the park giving them each a paper bag.

She was giving out food to them. They thanked her and once she was done, she quietly left.

I don’t know if anyone else noticed her, but she made an impression on me. She was my quiet hero. No one knew about her except for those whom she helped. She didn’t make a fuss of wanting to be seen so people knew what she was doing. She just did it.

So many of us are always yelling at the top of lungs or on the internet trying to be heard and seen, saying “Look at me! Look what I did!” But among us are everyday heroes who go unnoticed, trying to help in anyway possible.

To those people I say thank you. You make this world a little more bearable.

Thank you.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. dawn #

    Wonderful story! Definitely an everyday hero!

    November 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      That she is!

      November 4, 2015
  2. San #

    I LOVE THAT!!!

    November 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      Right? She was great. 🙂

      November 4, 2015
  3. The best kind of people.

    November 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      They really are.

      November 4, 2015
  4. You didn’t take a picture of that, either? Ahhh!!

    November 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      I know! I would totally have done so if I had a telephoto type lens with me.

      November 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

