Skip to content

The bond that ties us

Canon AE-1, 50 mm, black and white Kodak film, summer party

It’s easy when we’re children to make friends. In fact, we likely make several of them. At some point we’ll move or they will and we lose touch.

As we grow older into young adulthood, the bonds feel stronger, like they can last a lifetime and beyond.

But they don’t always. We grow a little more, maybe meet someone, maybe get married, maybe have children. Again, we make new friends, somewhat less than before, but still possible.

Bonds from the past sometimes resurrect themselves for a quick hello, how are you, what have you been up to? And then quickly fade away again.

Just as life ebbs and flows, so do our friendships with the people we meet during our lifetime. The wonderful thing about friends, I think, is that we get to choose each other and will likely have a lot in common.

Life will eventually pull us in different directions and we’ll drift apart, but there might come a time when we meet again. Maybe. And if we do, it’ll be as if we never said see you later that last time many years ago. It’s as if time never passed.

We’ll still have that bond of friendship.

But nothing is a constant. Things sometimes end, and while sad, we should take comfort in the memories that were made and how we helped each other grow.

I’ll always hold on as tightly as I can in my heart to those I call my friends. They put a smile on my face, listen to me rant on and on about my problem du jour, and give me comfort when needed.

They make life a worthwhile adventure.

Inspiration for this post comes from The Atlantic’s article on How Friendships Change in Adulthood

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nothing is constant, that’s for sure. Sometimes I’m close with my friends, other times I am not. But yes, the bond is always there and that’s nice.

    November 4, 2015
  2. I know we’ve never met in person, but I count you amongst my friends.

    November 5, 2015
    • Marie #

      Aww thank you! I do too!

      November 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

