Skip to content

It’s the inside numbers that count

fall

Canon 6D, 35mm f/1.4 lens, Lightroom edits, Virginia fall

I had every intention of blogging everyday in November, but that did not happen. Life manages to get in the way and then before you know it, your eyes and body are shutting down by 10 pm, on the couch, as your husband tries to nudge you awake to get up and go to bed.

Ok fine, I’m old.

While I may not be winning in the November NaBloPomo sphere, I am doing kinda awesome in the health department (minus the whole not getting enough sleep thing).

When I went in about a year and a half ago to do my regular annual check-up with my primary care physician, I was informed that my cholesterol was up, yet again. This time it had jumped to over 200. If you’re wondering if that’s good or bad, it’s definitely not good. It’s actually in the borderline-high range. (Mayo Clinic has a helpful table.)

I should note, my cholesterol had been climbing over a few years and jumped to unhealthy levels when I was at my previous job. I told my doctor that I had just started going to the gym (I hadn’t before) and that I was getting more exercise than I was before (again, this actually has quite a lot to do with where I worked – I’ll get to that in a minute*). She wasn’t ready to put me on medication because, in her words, you’re still too young.

Instead, she said to keep up with working out and managing what I eat, and to come back in six months for another blood test.

Six months and two holidays later (Thanksgiving and Christmas which means eating All The Unhealthy Foods), my cholesterol was still up. But my doctor was adamant about not giving me any medication just yet. So onward with continued exercise and refraining from eating blocks of cheese plus sweets.

I have a problem dear readers, called Cheese and All The Pastries. The struggle is real y’all.

Fast forward to just recently when I went for my annual checkup and then a health assessment at work. Guess what my total cholesterol level was? 169. That’s right, one hundred sixty-nine! I managed to push that sucker down!

You’re probably wondering how, right? Well, come back tomorrow and I’ll explain what sort of magic I conjured up to push my cholesterol down. (Hint: sadly does not include Cheese and All The Pastries.)

*Ok I sort of lied, I’ll get to it in the next post.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    BOO-YAH! Great work, lady!
    But now I wanna know what happened at your work…

    November 9, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you! Come back tomorrow 😉

      November 9, 2015
  2. The fact that we’re not supposed to eat blocks of cheese with the same abandon as, say, apples? Total bs.

    November 9, 2015
    • Marie #

      RIGHT?!

      November 9, 2015
  3. My cholesterol has also risen in the last 3 years and has been <200 for that long. Definitely NOT exercising has been a culprit. I can't wait to hear what you did. It's probably very practical advice I should take but won't for a while. I'm honest with myself LOL.

    November 9, 2015
    • Marie #

      I think if you’re under 200, you should be ok. From my experience when mine was climbing, my doctor started being concerned when it hit 180 because it was getting close to the 200 mark. If your’s remains under 200 and is somewhat steady, that might just be your body changing (since our bodies change over time). If you are really worried, definitely talk to your doctor about it.

      November 10, 2015
  4. I was wondering why we seemed to be getting so many posts from you. Completely forgot about NaBloPoMo. Keep going with it! Who cares if you missed a day or so.

    November 10, 2015
    • Marie #

      I’m trying! 🙂

      November 11, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It’s all about balance | Marie's Café

Leave a Reply

