Skip to content

My Twitter News

WaPo

iPhone, vsco cam edits, Washington Post, Washington, DC

A friend of mine said to me yesterday, Marie, stop reading the news. You’ll be a happier person for it. Ignorance is bliss.

I completely agree with him, but I’m drawn to news like a moth to a flame or myself to 10 donuts and a cup of coffee.

Or you know, to the news.

So I thought I’d share some of my favorite twitter accounts I follow, and who are my daily source of news intake. Or provide me with some much needed hilarity.

And yes, I get a lot of my news from the Twitter accounts I follow (mostly made up of news outlets and/or journalists).

@NPR: If you live in the US and don’t know who this is, we can’t be friends

@guardian and @GuardianUS: News outlet

@MorningEdition: Tweets from NPR’s Morning Edition staff

@TheAtlantic: Online news and print magazine (I actually subscribe to their print magazine)

@NewYorker: Online and print magazine

@MaxAbrahms: Terrorism Theorist/Northeastern Prof/Council on Foreign Relations/Center for Cyber & Homeland Security

@ggreenwald: Glenn Greenwald/Journalist/Author

@pourmecoffee: Political satirist

@michaelianblack: Comedian/Actor

How do you get your news? Or do you just avoid it all together?

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Reddit for me. I’ve been trying to wean my parents off news on the TV and the regular online news feeds, but they’re hooked. Mainstream media’s news can be so abysmal at times.

    November 18, 2015
    • Marie #

      Totally agree about mainstream news. It is quite awful. Both Matt and I don’t really watch it because it’s so terrible. Our most reliable sources are those on the internet and we do listen to NPR on the radio.

      November 18, 2015
  2. I am officially on the “avoid news” plan at this point 😛

    November 18, 2015
    • Marie #

      heh 😉

      November 18, 2015
  3. I get my news from social media as well. I’m also in love with daily emails from “Skimmed” which gives all the top news in small snippets, with a little sass. http://www.theskimm.com/?r=d180b3c5 (that’s my invite code).

    November 18, 2015
    • Marie #

      Very cool! Thanks Lisa!

      November 18, 2015
  4. Oh my, my friends and family say the same thing to me. I’m drawn to the news and I enjoy hearing and learning about what’s going on with our world on the daily. It’s good to stay informed about it all. Atleast imo.

    November 20, 2015
    • Marie #

      It definitely is important to stay informed!

      November 20, 2015
  5. Twitter. No question. The only news source I follow is @ajam (Al Jazeera America). I like them.

    November 20, 2015

Leave a Reply

